The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: compaq 2266 motherboard
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:12 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:03 pm
Posts: 7
Have a compaq 2266 and would like to replace the MII cyrix with a amd k6/3.
I have not been able to find info on this motherboard for the jumper settings .
What i do know is the following:
socket 7, sis video 5598, 2 sdram slots, riser card with 2 pci slots at the edge of board, No onboard lan, compaq presario bios version FOAO, PhoenixBIOS 4.0 Release 6.0 ACPI
"COMPAQ 1998 system board" is stenciled on the board itself, two labels-one appears to be a part # "337362-001" the other has "KF8217283 desertstorm" on it. Jumpers are located in 3 spots, 2 sets of three "FREQ0, FREQ1, FREQ2"
"CLK0, CLK1, CLK2" Another set of 4 between the power hookups and the processor labeled j29 and a single one also between the cpu and power hookups but by the edge labeled j30. Any help with this would be great.

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:24 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Compaq-only board or so it seems:
http://www.elhvb.com/ctechinfo/model/de ... tstorm.php

If you can provide us with those jumper locations (detail photos) and the settings tables that should be printed somewhere on the board in white ink (detail photos) that would be great.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:41 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:03 pm
Posts: 7
I did not see any tables printed on the mobo. The image you have linked in your reply looks like the board. This link should take you to photos I took of the board.

http://picasaweb.google.com/bauerpckm/CompaqMobo


I'm amazed that you found the board image from the discription in such a short amount of time!

Thanks for helping me on this.
[/url]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 11:46 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
I feared as much. BTW this is really a custom board, it is as if the memory slots and the power connectors have swapped places compared to any other board. I'll try and find more info on this beast but it may take some time...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:55 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:03 pm
Posts: 7
Some additional info. I was looking at the bottom edge of the board. From left to right is what is printed. Corner by the battery "1.3" in board circutry. then "doc num 16550 ver. 1.3" on right corner "TOP TOOL ING" Hope this helps some.

Phil


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:44 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:03 pm
Posts: 7
I was able to get a maintenance and service guide pdf from hp on the 2200-2400 presarios. It does not include the clock, freq, cpu core voltage select nor the processor DLL voltage(no idea what that is) pin settings.
phil


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:18 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
That is about the only document on this board. What CPU is installed now and how are the CLK, FREQ and J29 set?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:09 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:03 pm
Posts: 7
It came with a Cyrix pr300mx. The pins on Freq and Clock were all set on 1-2. The core volts were set at 3.3 as best I can figure. I read in one of the forum archives (of another hardware sight) from 2000 that the 4 pin core volt was 2.0 with all pins off. They then added .8, .4, .2, .1 as you closed the pins from left to right. I still have no idea what the processor DLL 3 pin is for. I believe it is on pins 1-2. Pin one is not marked on any of the pin layouts. If you want the manual let me know and I'll send it to you.

Thanks again for the help and work you've put into this
Phil


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:33 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Unless it is something different than the 87 page Maintenance and Service Guide for the 2200 and 2400 series. That one I do have, but no jumper settings in there as far as I can tell..

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:12 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:03 pm
Posts: 7
Hello. I figure this will be my last post in regards to the presario 2266 motherboard. We were not able to find any documentation on the jumpers for this board. I downloaded Everest to check multiplier and fsb reads when I adjusted the Freq and Clock jumpers. For anyone (probably 1 or 2 if any) that may want to know what I was able to find out---here it is. One last thing first. Going by Everest and the changes presented by Everest it seems that the mobo manufacturer labeled Freq as Clock and Clock as Freq. on the board. The changes are listed by the way the jumper is labeled on the board. I was useing a K6/2 450 chomper extended. For the core voltage (J29), the 4 pin settings are-- off, on, off, off, for 2.2volts. J30 has, from the front of the unit, the first two pins closed.

Freq:1-2, 2-3, 2-3 = 6x (k6/2 read a 2x as 6x, not sure if actually 2x or 6x)
clock:2-3, 1-2, 2-3=75mhz
cpu=450mhz

Freq:1-2, 2-3, 2-3=6x
Clock:1-2, 2-3, 2-3=60mhz
cpu=360mhz

Freq:1-2, 2-3, 2-3=6x
Clock:1-2, 2-3, 1-2=83mhz
cpu=500mhz

Freq:1-2, 1-2, 1-2=4.5x
Clock:2-3, 2-3, 2-3=67mhz
cpu=300mhz

Thanks Evasive for your asssistance and finding the board image.
Phil


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Qwantify [Crawler] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group