Gateway Performance 866 (ATX-STF)_Socket370_Need the usual

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37608
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

This one should work anyway if you set that seagate for sata1 operation.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custratin ... 6816132009
The single SATA2 card from Koutech is not SATA2 as advertised. The next in line is about double the price of this one.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
User avatar
joe_devore
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Location: Dover, NH USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

evasive wrote:no I won't. Get that Crucial card, they once listed it as a compatible upgrade for the D815EEA so I know that one will work. The Sapphire I can't comment on, they don't list 4x anywhere in the specs.

Waiting for your SATA2 controller card.
Waiting???.... <-----Sorry Nevermind.

Thanks again for all your help :D
Sorry I ran out of time for today so I will be back on again tomorrow,
at 9AM or after EST-USA
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37608
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

If you can get one of these it would be fine too. They're blatantly cheap and seem to work pretty OK.
http://www.conceptronic.net/site/deskto ... CSATACOMBO
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
User avatar
joe_devore
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Location: Dover, NH USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

The only problem I see with either SATA or SCSI is that
the GateWay BIOS has no boot option for SCSI(<--Used for SATA as well?)

There were other Options:
-Floppy
-ARMD-Floppy
-ARMD-HDD
-IDE-HDD
and two others, I can't remember what they were...
Thats under the boot menu...

That newer PC the P4VXAD ---
CustomPC:Mobo:ElteGroup_P4VXAD_Rev1.0_P4_P4X266
This EliteGroup Mobo actually has the SCSI boot option.

What about a Vantec SATA Card Newegg
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37608
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

The Gateway bios should have an option called Other or SCSI if and when the SATA/SCSI card is fitted. I'll check on my D815EEA though to be sure.

This one (out of stock! )
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6815102102

or this one?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6816113001

both should work no problem.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
User avatar
joe_devore
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Location: Dover, NH USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

Thanks Evasive, :D
You were right... The Crucial Radeon 9600 SE 128MB AGP 4x/8x Works
Its Mentions right on the box Supports
4x (1.5v), 8x (0.8v) and AGP v3.0_4x/8x

I went ahead and installed it in current win98 setup thats currently in the
gateway.. Getting some Lag when nothing but the desktop is showing.

Plan to install it with Win2K as soon as the HDD comes tomorrow..

For now Do to the shear # of Choices of SATA Adapters available
I just went with the Western Digital:WD800JB ATA100 for now..

As soon as I can get a new system built,
I will get one of Seagate's SATA2 10th Generation HDDs
Thanks again for all your help Evasive
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37608
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

OK, I'll put off my PCI SATA card buy for now as well then. Maybe when I really need one for a migration.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
User avatar
joe_devore
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Location: Dover, NH USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

evasive wrote:OK, I'll put off my PCI SATA card buy for now as well then. Maybe when I really need one for a migration.
Thanks Evasive.. hope I didn't cause you any inconvenience or anything..

Check these out when you can spare a minute and tell me if its a good deal
eBay:DFI Motherboard & AMD64 3000+ combo
ebay:DFI Motherboard. Radeon9600se. AMD64 3000+
These are from the same Guy I got the Crucial Radeon 9600 SE from
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37608
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

Bit hesitant about the K8M800-MLVF:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRatin ... ze=&Page=1

Maybe other people know something about it as well...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
User avatar
joe_devore
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Location: Dover, NH USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

ogh.... I see...
Oh well... Always seems to good to be true..
.........??
Post Reply