The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 10:29 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2002 11:13 am
Posts: 4
Hey do you know where I can find a BIOS update for an Old Jamicon board?

BIOS string is: 12/16/97-i430TX-ALI513X-2A59IK1CC-00

Award Modular Bios V4.51PG Release:1998 0102-0

Hardware Junkie hooked me up with a Users Manual earlier and stated:
KM-T5-T3 Motherboard by KAMEI matches the string. But it was also sold as the BCM/GVC SQ572

The board is a Jamicon KM533T

Thanks--


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 10:52 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
I have these:

12/16/97-i430TX-ALI513X-2A59IK1CC-00

06/30/1998-i430TX-ALI513-2A59IK1CC-00

What do you need an upgrade for?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 12:45 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2002 11:13 am
Posts: 4
I'm having various problems from the system. When-ever Win 95 tries to reboot to finalize settings the system gets in an endless re-boot. If you reset the system itself it will bootup normal. It is also very sensitive to the type of memory you put in it. If I try a stick of PC133 (156MB) it will do the memory check but go into an endless re-boot. Right now I'm stuck with a single stick of PC66 (32MB) to make the system operate. Also it will not currently find the serial mouse...it keeps looking for a PS/2 mouse which I don't have. I just figured a new BIOS flash would resolve some of these issues. Trying not to spend money on it. Using all of my old stuff I have gathered over the years.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 1:51 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
A new bios flash is not going to solve all this. You want to do a reset to defaults, I think you can disable the PS/2 port in the bios somewhere and as for the memory, you'd better use SIMMs, not DIMMs. Chipset issue, not a bios issue.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 9:37 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 9:13 am
Posts: 4
After an intensive internet search I came to this forum and might have found exactly what I was looking for: a bios update for an almost 10 years old PC.

The bios is i430TX-ALI513-2A59IK1CC-0 on a 533T-AT-KM-T5-T3 motherboard (from Jetway??).
Unfortunately I volunteered to help the owner of this PC (an Italian terracotta artist) to 'upgrade' it with an 80 GB hard disk from an other almost dead PC. But as I had to find out the bios obviously does not accept hard disks larger than 8 GB.

Funnily enough this very old PC runs pretty fine with Win98 as a surf and email tool - almost as fast as many XP machines.

I wonder if anybody can help me with an appropriate bios update - or with an advice to throw away the PC because I will not be successful with the 80 GB hard disk anyway.

Thanks for your help!
Enrico


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 2:04 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Since I am still around on the forums and somehow never throw away old bioses, I may be able to help. I'm going to check if this bios can be fixed to support 80GB disks, in itself the limit is most likely 32GB. Give me a few days to tinker and I'll let you know the outcome.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 7:22 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 9:13 am
Posts: 4
In case that a lack of reply would be mistaken: I am still interested in any advice to extend the bios above the limit of 8 GB. End of next week I have to give back the PC to my Italian friend. If she can use it as a very basic surf and skype means only, so be it. But if the 80 GB disk could be used she would be happy with this old PC for another 10 years:-)
In any case I am surprised and happy that you take care of my issue at all!
Enrico


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:19 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
found a workable bios for starters. let the patching begin...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:10 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
http://wims.rainbow-software.org/edwin/

(Jamicon Kaimei KM-T5-T3 KM-533T).ZIP contains an updated bin file for flashing. Please report the results, you may help other owners.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:51 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 9:13 am
Posts: 4
For some reason the reply notification did not work this time, therefore I found your response only yesterday. After some hours fighting with a technique not very familiar to me I finally made it. Mainly two obstacles were to overcome:
1. I had to find a version of awdflash.exe that did not end with an error message 'unknown flash type'. After that the new bios accepted my 80 gb hard disk
2. My win98 (running on a 3 gb drive) did not show me this 'new' hard disk (ntfs formatted!) at all. Paragon's free 'NTFS for Win98' solved that.
Now I have to deal with some win98 flaws or add win xp as a second boot option.
In any case the old PC can be used again.
Thanks a lot for your help! It's amazing what level of expertise you share with us.
Enrico


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group