The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 8:35 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2002 6:52 am
Posts: 171
Location: Wisconsin
Hi, a few months ago I upgraded my 5004US to Win 2K, couldn't stand WinME. I thought everything was perfect, machine runs fantastic, thought I'd located the drivers I'd needed. Until I found that I have IRQ conflicts....6 of them to be exact are using IRQ 11, two major ones being my sound card and video card (SoundBlaster Live 5.1 and a GeForce3 Ti200) no longer OE. Would this be the result of installing Win2K on a machine that has proprietary software? Do I need software for the Motherboard? Help please :?
-truman


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 9:45 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14299
Location: Maine
If all of your components are the same as what came with the system, you should be able to do a QR to get the conflicts taken care of.

Toby

**You upgraded from Me to Windows 2000?????I am assuming that you did a fresh install not an upgrade as Win Me cannot be "upgraded" to Win 2000.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 11:36 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2002 6:52 am
Posts: 171
Location: Wisconsin
correct, I did a clean install, but not all items are the same. i have a new CD-RW, new video card and new sound card....and an extra HD. so what's QR?[/code]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 12:20 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14299
Location: Maine
QR = Quick Restore

but where you added the new components I am not sure that a Quick Restore wil in fact work. Hardware Junkie is the all knowing Compaq guy; he should be able to help you out.

Toby


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 12:57 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
A Quick Restore will most likely fail with all those extra components in there. You have to restore the machine to factory configuration and then run the QR.
You can obtain QR disks from 1-800-841-2761.
They charge for shipping though.
And it will bring your computer back to Windows ME. They don't make them for other operating systems for specific models.
And you'll most likely have to use the QR procedure (listed below) to get it back on the drive.

QR Procedure:
Place the QR #1 disk in the top most drive in the system.
Restart
When the system turns on, make sure num lock is on
When you see the blinking QR logo, press caps lock (to turn it on)
When you see the non-blinking QR logo press num lock (to turn it off)
If it asks you for a language at any time use English
When you see the welcome screen press Ctrl+Q.
It may prompt for a Load Code, use W51DECCB for the 5004US

If you want to continue using Windows 2000, here is the driver downloads for the original hardware configuration:
http://www29.compaq.com/falco/sp_result ... 2791&Os=93
If the above link generates an error, go here:
http://www29.compaq.com/falco/sp_list.asp

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 4:24 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2002 6:52 am
Posts: 171
Location: Wisconsin
:D thanks for help, I'll check the links. Yes I love Win2K. Have been using it since Feb. and have never had a problem with it. ME on the other hand, I didn't like so much and when I talked to Compaq, they suggested that I leave ME on it, but it ran so badly that I had to do something. Even if I have the IRQ issues, the machine runs so great that I wouldn't go back.
Thanks again,
pol.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 6:51 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Quote:
I have IRQ conflicts....6 of them to be exact are using IRQ 11


This is typical of an ACPI compliant bios with an ACPI compliant operating system loaded, this is not an IRQ conflict situation at all this is the way ACPI is supposed to work.

Quote:
the machine runs so great


Surely this wouldn't be the case if there were in fact IRQ conflicts so I would leave things as they are.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 4:26 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2002 6:52 am
Posts: 171
Location: Wisconsin
Thanks Aussie,
A friend of mine told me 'if it ain't broke don't fix it', and he tried to explain why it would come up with the irq conflicts and also be running fine. You explained it quite well. Thanks again!
=truman :o


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group