The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:12 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Quote:
By the way. I can get to the http://www.bcmcom.com web site.


Yes, so can I now. It seems that the "hack job" was short lived.


http://www.bcmcom.com/_disc1/00000dab.htm

Quote:
BCM IN530 BIOS should be an AMI BIOS. We have corrected the wrong information on our web site. Basically GVC FR520 and BCM IN530 are the same board that could share the same BIOS but we DO NOT guarantee if IN530's BIOS can work with FR520's. Good luck.



As you can see from the above quote there is a risk involved in using the BCM IN530 bios on the FR520 board.


http://www.bcmcom.com/tech/IN530/IN530bios.asp

Bios support for larger hard drives was added to the IN530 bios as long ago as 1999.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:18 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Quote:
hijacked bcmcom: looks like someone needs to do a serious cached files cleaning


Strangely enough I've never visited the site that I was redirected too so I can't see how it would have been in my cache.

Besides I can now get to the BCM site and I haven't cleared my cache.

Something wierd did go on there for a short while but I don't think it was with my machine somehow.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:26 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am
Posts: 15
So what I want is this one right?

Bios Revision: 1.24 - Date: 12/2/1999


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:31 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am
Posts: 15
Or can I use the one Ver 1.29 from the web site you gave me earlier.

http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/miami.htm

Sorry about all the questions. I just want to be sure.

Thanks Aussie for your advice you are giving me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:33 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
My advice is to stick with the Packard Bell bios update on this page:-

http://www.pbnec.nl/support/itemnr/REFBIOS00380300.html

That's the safest option.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:40 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am
Posts: 15
Thank you very very much Aussie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:50 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Your welcome. 8)


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:59 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am
Posts: 15
One more thing Aussie.

I posted this question in the support forum. With the specs on my mother board do you think this is possible? They tell me that it isn't?

I have a Packard Bell Computer with On board video and sound card.
The video card in the bios has 3 settings. A 2, 4, and 8 meg setting and is shared.

It is a SiS 530. With todays video games everything requires Open GL. This video card does not support it.

I want to purchase a 32 meg video card since most games require Open GL.

Can I install this card?
Will it over ride the current settings for my current card when I
install the drivers?
Can I just plug my monitor cable into this video card without
aggravation?

Any help would be grateful.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:53 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
This is an extract from the IN530 manual, I'm not sure if it will apply to your FR520 you will have to look for the jumper on your board.

Quote:
VGA Select (JP1, 2-pin)
This header is used for selection of onboard VGA port or Add-in VGA card. To use the onboard VGA function, please leave the jumper uncapped.


Obviously if you wish to use an add-in card you would place a jumper on JP1.

On the IN530 this jumper is located just inboard of the Dimm slots in the middle section of the board.

You will. of course, need a PCI video card due to the lack of an AGP port.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Thanks Aussie
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 8:09 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am
Posts: 15
I found the jumper on my board.
I am waiting to get my card on Friday. At least I know now what I am looking for.

By the way, I did flash my BIOs with Version 1.29 and all is working great.

Thanks again.

Fisherman


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group