I have a Mother Board Problem

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

I have a Mother Board Problem

Postby fisherman500 » Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:33 am

Serial # of my computer: P493902560
Model # is L1102C


I need to know if there is some sort of BIOS update I can get for my Packard Bell 400 running Win 98 Se with Restore CD.

I have and AMD-K6(TM)-2/400 Processor
BIOS Version: V00.01.27


When I read everything on the Mother Board all I see is SiS 530 for everything.

My 30 Gig drive doesn't seem to be compatible with my mother board.
I reformatted my computer and everything works great. I hook up my 30 gig maxtor Hard drive as a slave to my 4 gig drive and computer boots up fine. The computer works but it starts to perform illegal operations on me when I do something simple like run Real player or click on the volume in the Sys tray.

I have not done any over clocking. I have 320 ram.

Did a System lookup at http://www.priorityonesupport.com
And this is what it says about my Mother Board and it's description.

I am certain that it's not a Microstar since I have looked at every word on the board and it says nothing about Microstar

Need some sort of help guys.

Motherboard,Incomplete
MBI 1080
MSI-5187 Microstar 151-00033-000
SOCKET 7

OR

Motherboard,Incomplete
MBI 1120
M5SAA 151-00038-000
W/512KB CACHE

OR

Motherboard,Incomplete
MBI 1120
M5SAA REV.1.1 W/FRNT USB SPRT
151-00038-001
W/512KB CACH USB SPRT
R1

I don't have a Front USB port on my computer. What does all of this
mean?
Is there a BIOS update that I can get and use to solve my problems?
fisherman500
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am

Postby Aussie » Tue Jun 11, 2002 7:06 am

SiS 530 is the chipset used on the board. The Microstar MS-5187 uses a VIA MVP4 chipset so we can rule that one out.

The Biostar M5SAA does use the SiS 530 chipset so it is a possibility.

Image

Another possibility is the BCM FR520 which looks very similar to the board below:-

Image

This board (FR520) is listed here under PB980:-

http://www.secondbyte.ca/pbcode_mobo.htm#PB%20980


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Thanks alot

Postby fisherman500 » Tue Jun 11, 2002 7:59 am

The PB980 seems to be the one that I have.

It's an exact picture.

But unfortunately there doe not seem to be a BIOs update available to fix my Hard Drive Problem

Thanks again
fisherman500
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am

Postby Aussie » Tue Jun 11, 2002 8:15 am

Strangely enough it seems that the BCM site has been "hijacked" since my last post.

http://www.bcmcom.com/

Click on the above link to the BCM site and you get this:-

http://www.goldware.cz/

I was going to direct you to a bios update for the BCM IN530 which is identical to the BCM FR520 however will the site is "hijacked" like this it is impossible.


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby Aussie » Tue Jun 11, 2002 8:36 am

The latest Packard Bell bios for the FR520 (Miami) board supports hard drives up to 35Gb.

http://www.pbnec.nl/support/itemnr/REFBIOS00380300.html


http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/pb/mb/miami.htm


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby fisherman500 » Tue Jun 11, 2002 8:52 am

The BIOs update on this page says for version 1.29
I have BIOS Version: V00.01.27

Does that make a difference?

http://www.pbnec.nl/support/itemnr/REFBIOS00380300.html
fisherman500
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am

Postby fisherman500 » Tue Jun 11, 2002 8:53 am

But it seems like the one I need.
fisherman500
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am

Postby fisherman500 » Tue Jun 11, 2002 8:54 am

By the way. I can get to the http://www.bcmcom.com web site.
fisherman500
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:21 am

Postby Aussie » Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:01 am

Version 1.29 is the latest version for the board, you are currently running the previous version of the bios, version 1.27.

The version numbers refer to the bios version not the motherboard version.


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby evasive » Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:09 am

hijacked bcmcom: looks like someone needs to do a serious cached files cleaning :)
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot] and 1 guest