Old - AcerPower 486SX - A hard nut to crack...

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Re: Old - AcerPower 486SX - A hard nut to crack...

Postby evasive » Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:29 am

You are running software on this thing so I assume it starts. When you turn it on or hard reset the thing it will show some info on the screen. There should be a line like this:
ACR2FE00-I08-970328-R01-C0

In there. The charactres may be completely different but it should start with ACR. Can you re[produce that line please? That might be our best shot at getting this thing identified. Can't find matches on any of the motherboard markings or the case markings, FCC ID whatever. Quite a mystery. Could be a "supermarket" model where an OEM releases a single special edition for Wal-Mart, Tesco, Asda....
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Old - AcerPower 486SX - A hard nut to crack...

Postby Psybulon » Mon Feb 01, 2016 12:53 am

Thank you for your reply.

It boots and works wonderfully.
There is no bios string unfortunately and any bios identification-tool i run states either "No info found" or "Acer Bios".
I can try to videotape the boot, maybe I am missing something.
Psybulon
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 11:37 pm

Re: Old - AcerPower 486SX - A hard nut to crack...

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Feb 01, 2016 6:52 am

Almost all computer systems post a string of characters in the lower left corner of the first video image. This is the BIOS string, a positive ID of the system and creation date. Some post only the brand logo until the POST process is done. May be a command line in the BIOS to show the info.
A small diagnostics program such as CPU-Z from http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html can reveal this and a lot of other details. But it requires a Windows OS. But for a DOS environment, a command line is required. You could try to halt the POST process with a critical error, such as 'no keyboard found' by pulling the keyboard before starting.
This link shows a screen image of what to look for..
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000234.htm
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Old - AcerPower 486SX - A hard nut to crack...

Postby evasive » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:33 pm

yep that would be a good thing to try.

I have to think what tool you can use for that era of Acer bioses to get the string shown somehow...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Previous

Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron