The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:45 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 6:08 am
Posts: 24
That's Vadem VG-365
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 5:09 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
I did find a driver set for 3Com model 3C905C-TX (1999) if it is of any use.
For setting up a jumperless NIC in a DOS environment, you need a batch file to configure it.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:06 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
3C905 is PCI, 3C509 is ISA. I already gave the link to the EtherDisk for the ISA model, it include the setting utility and drivers for all OSs that were out there at the time. 3COM was doing a decent job for supporting their stuff for some time.

I'll go hunting for VG-365 cards and drivers then.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:43 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Quote:
3C905 is PCI, 3C509 is ISA.
:oops:
Yeah, OOPS! My fingers did their own dance and reversed the numbers!
Driver Guide does have a set. http://www.driverguide.com/driver/detai ... verid=6287

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:39 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
I already provided a set of driver disks including the utility before.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:44 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 6:08 am
Posts: 24
Hi guys,
I've already got my LAN working under DOS long ago as per 1st link, thank you so much!
The q. is now about this PCMCIA reader, only.

And another question pls...was there any good DOS-based TSR that will allow me to make screenshots (in different video modes, incl. VGA/SVGA)? As far as I recalling those imes, there was a cool "grab.exe"+"grabview.exe" screenshoter+viewer, but I can't find any correct mention on Internet so far...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:01 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Finding a screen capture utility for pure DOS may not be easy. Did find a link for some DOS utilities.. http://www.pc-tools.net/dos/dosutils/ and took a DL of same, scanned with AVG and is safe. But, use with proper command parsing!
You might be interested in a file manager for DOS. An older program, Norton Utilities, worked well in the DOS environment.
If you get Win 3.1 or 3.11 installed and working, look at "Total Commander" from http://www.ghisler.com/ . Similar, but not intended for a pure DOS environment.
You could use an optical disk drive in the DOS environment, but two commands are needed. One is the MSCDEX.EXE in the DOS folder, and the optical disk activator.. like VIDE-CDD.SYS or similar.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:06 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
volkov commander is freeware and will run on basically everything.

screen grabbers for DOS, if memory serves me right you need to make sure you video chip is supported. so see if you can find the utilities disk for your video card, it might include one.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:50 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 6:08 am
Posts: 24
Hi,

just a screen grabber for DOS I need. :)
For file manager, I love that classic NC (+NU tools in additional). VC is smaller and faster - but lack of built-in tools that NC has.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:58 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Norton Commander was a great file manager! You could even use it for entering command lines for programs, sort of a 'menu' feature.
If only doing text capture, try the Ctrl+Print Screen key combo. Should output to almost any printer.
For image capture, maybe use a digital camera, off-axis by about 10° to avoid glare and flash washout.
I have an archive of the ancient DOS stuff.. but no screen capture found there.
DOS 6.22 was the last official release of a pure command-prompt system. But pulling the commands from a Win 95 or Win 98 install would work nicely.
Default video for VGA in DOS is 640x480 @60 Hz unless the video card has 1 MB or higher.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group