The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:01 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:04 pm
Posts: 49
Hi
I have an Easynote Laptop. The only info i have is that it is an MX37 model. Vista Basic O/S.
I need the SATA drivers to re-install O/S

link to driver downloads, but there are no SATA drivers listed, can someone help please.
The web page takes a while to load.

ftp://ftp.download.packardbell.com/NOTEBOOK/EasyNote%20MX37%20series/Driver/Vista/



Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 3:32 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 2:57 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Do you realise this laptop was part of a batch recalled due to faults?
I would have assumed that vista would have the drivers by default :roll:
This is one for the more senior members. Just letting you know you're not being ignored ;)

_________________
CALL &BD19 (If you need to ask you don't need to know)
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:44 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:04 pm
Posts: 49
Hi

Thanks for the reply, & info

Did not know that the laptop had faults. It 4 years old, with no problems yet, so their takin their time appearing.

The existing HDD is 120GB SATA. Just found out that the BIOS don't recognise anything above(Wanted to increase the size of HDD) 120GB.
Thats why there aint any SATA drivers.

Just have to keep on using the existing HDD.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:59 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 2:57 pm
Posts: 708
Location: Yorkshire, UK
I remember the recall, it was an issue with the battery. Check your battery's serial No here:

http://customercare.packardbell.com/cus ... IType=Ajax

Not sure if they'll still be doing the exchange - but worth a try if yours is one of those.

_________________
CALL &BD19 (If you need to ask you don't need to know)
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:32 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17142
Location: England
4 years old - it should see a drive well above 120Gb, esp if it is running Vista. Have you gone into the BIOS and enabled 'IDE mode' rather than ACHI mode? This enables you to install the OS without the ACHI drivers.

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:08 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Mr T is on the money to get the OS reinstalled. The only issue is it may affect performance of the laptop.
We might be able to find the right drivers, but we need a more specific model number. Look on the bottom, you should see something like MX37-S-200 or similar.
I've seen people reference MX37s with SiS and Intel chipsets.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:14 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Should be a small, hidden partition on the original hard drive.. which contains the drivers and install setup. Typically, when you first use the computer, you are prompted to copy that partition to an optical disk.. for future reference. Use the Disk Manager feature of System Tools to activate that partition (if still there) so it can be accessed and copied to an optical disk. Likely it is around 500 megs or so.. possibly including the OS intended for the system.
You could use a free diagnostics program such as CPU-Z to ID the basics of the laptop.. such as processor type, memory and chipsets. Get it from http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php .

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group