Graphics card

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Graphics card

Postby Odin1225 » Thu Jul 01, 2010 8:56 pm

what type of Graphics cards can i put in this laptop?
thank you for any help

Board: Wistron 360B 09.41
Serial Number: 2CE834029T
Bus Clock: 667 megahertz
BIOS: Hewlett-Packard F.24 08/13/2008

Hewlett-Packard Compaq Presario CQ50 Notebook PC F.24
System Serial Number: 2CE834029T
Asset Tag: Chassis Asset Tag
Enclosure Type: Notebook

intel celeron
2.00 gigahertz Intel 575
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Not hyper-threaded
Odin1225
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:29 pm

Postby fussnfeathers » Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:32 pm

None. That's an integrated graphics chip with shared system memory. Not many laptops have upgragable graphics, and those are only the top of the line gaming models. If you can give me the whole model number (the CQ50 line has about 50 models in it) I might be able to at least give you an idea of how to get better performance. Look at the label on the bottom. The top line is the model line, the middle number is the serial (don't need that), the last line is what I need.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

Postby Odin1225 » Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:19 pm

P/N:FR972UA#ABA

thank you
Odin1225
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:29 pm

Postby evasive » Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:18 am

That should be the CQ50-139WM then:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... ct=3804159
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby fussnfeathers » Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:34 am

Yep, integrated. The best you'll be able to do is go into the BIOS, and increase the video memory as far as you can. If you've got the stock 1GB RAM, I'd set it at 512mb, max. It uses system RAM to work.

You can't replace it with something better, or install a second graphics card. The laptop doesn't support it.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you

video memory

Postby Odin1225 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:48 am

i can not find any thing in the bios that show me i can increase the video memory
Odin1225
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:29 pm

Postby Karlsweldt » Fri Jul 09, 2010 4:29 pm

Look for "video aperture". Should be on the page of "advanced" settings. Going above 25% of total installed memory may slow the OS response. And going above 256 MB max for any on-board video will not improve its performance.
The "video aperture" is memory taken from the top end of installed memory, dedicated for video use. If a video card is installed, then the "video aperture" can be limited to about 64 MB, as it is only a buffer to keep the video card supplied with data.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438


Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron