The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Intel D850MD replacement
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:32 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 3
Can I replace a Intel D850MD Intel 850 Socket 478 micro-ATX Motherboard with a Gigabyte G31M-Es2l motherboard?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:55 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Sorta. It'll fit your case, yes. Nothing that plugs into the board will work, though. You'll need a new processor, a socket 478 proc will not fit an LGA775 socket, the Gigabyte uses DDR2 RAM, DDR RAM will not fit, your old board is AGP, the Gigabyte is PCI Express x16.....does have onboard video, so you could skip a new video card for now. Main power supply connector on your Intel board is a 20 pin, the Gigabyte is 24 pin. A few other things.

So no, it's not a direct replacement. You need a Socket 478 board with a 400mhz FSB speed, that supports your current processor and peripherals, if you're just looking to replace a bad motherboard.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:58 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Yes, the size is the same.

However:
- you need a new CPU, it is LGA775 and you have a socket478
- you need new memory, yours is RDRAM and this has DDR2
- you can only connect two IDE/PATA devices. Any more will require an add-in card. Alternatively you can replace your optical drives with SATA ones.
- you will need to reinstall your operating system
- you may need a new power supply. Intel boards rarely die out of the blue, usually the PSU killed the board.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:54 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
The Intel "845" type mobo may also be considered. Most had a 400 Mhz FSB, some had a 400/533 Mhz FSB. As long as the I/O port plate can be changed out on the case, almost any model micro ATX mobo would fit. But first do an 'eyeball' match as to the mobo mounts. Ensure that only the holes with solder rings top and bottom mate to the mount stand-offs. Most case designs allow the stand-offs to be moved, but if they cannot be moved, then only the original design mobo can be used. Would also be a time to consider a better PSU, one with a higher wattage. The old one may be very tired or barely adequate.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: update
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:46 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 3
I got the computer running, but the keyboard and mouse will not respond. system boots to the screen that says last shutdown was no good... 30 seconds till windows starts normally. since I can't use the keyboard, it loops and brings the screen up again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:00 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
eew. open case and check for bad capacitors first.

http://www.badcaps.net

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:09 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 3
it's a brand new board


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:50 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
PS/2 keyboard and mouse or USB? Go into the BIOS and enable legacy USB support if they're USB.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group