The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:12 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:16 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:05 pm
Posts: 4
Dear friends, this is my first post in this forum.My computer is a 3 year old Dell dimension 9150 and now it freezes at Bios screen. Bios is 'A 07'.
I have been advised that it's motherboard has become faulty and needs to be replaced.
I request you all to help me in this matter, by advising which motherboard should be used to replace the original one, as I'm unable to identify it.Also no information is available in this matter with Dell people. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:24 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 2560
Location: Pflugerville Tx
You have a btx format motherboard. Ascendtech has an Intel G965 micro btx board for $44.95 with 2 memory slots that should work with your dell btx case. Or, buy.com has a new Intel D945GRW with 4 memory slots for $64.99 shipped. These boards are much cheaper than your original dell board, which sells on ebay for about $200 used. You may need some help to change out the board, and you may have to reinstall windows, so find a dell windows dvd before ordering any motherboards. Draw a diagram as you go when you start disconnecting stuff. Or, look for your dell case-board-power supply on craigslist. Don't spend too much; Mid January Dell will have some deals on desktop systems for around $400 new for their end of quarter which ends at the end of Jan.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 10:58 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:05 pm
Posts: 4
oldie2

Thanks for reply. I shall explore the options suggested by you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 6:27 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 1:37 pm
Posts: 2
devagral wrote:
oldie2

Thanks for reply. I shall explore the options suggested by you.


Hi,
Have you tried this solution. I am concerned that I will not be able to fit Intel mobo into Dell case. I hear the location where screws go to attach to case is deferent in Dell cases.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 3:31 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
umm that was about 10 years ago. Dell has learned a bit here and there.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:29 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:05 pm
Posts: 4
Hi friends, thanks for your interest in my problem.I could not try the solution suggested posted by Eric, mainly because i'm living in India, and it might not be possible to procure that mobo.
Instead, I took a mild iron sheet app. the mobo size, drilled holes in it according to dell cabinet, drilled holes in this iron sheet according to a new atx mobo, fixed iron sheet in cabinet and then fixed new mobo on this sheet.Everything is working ok.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 11:52 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Converted your casing to ATX. Nice touch. Did you make pictures of this process?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Dell Dimension 9150-Mobo
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 2:32 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:05 pm
Posts: 4
Sorry, but the idea did not cross my mind.So no pictures.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 4:53 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Take some now, would be nice to see the finished product, even for our own reference.

FWIW, you wouldn't have had a problem at all fitting a BTX board into your Dell, BTX is a standard developed jointly by Dell and Intel. Gateway used it, as well. The only company I'm aware of that uses BTX in a non-standard, proprietary format that I'm aware of is Apple. Go figure.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:29 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 1:37 pm
Posts: 2
Just one follow up question. Does Intel Bobo have the connector for Front Panel that Dell has(headphones, USB, lights).
I am reading that that connector is proprietary?
Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group