M520 Motherboard with ID Problem

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

M520 Motherboard with ID Problem

Postby sawbona » Wed Jun 05, 2002 7:20 am

Hello:

I have an old AT motherboard which I am trying to get to work properly and give to a local school.

The BIOS string is this (apparently quite common) one:

Award Modular BIOS 4.51
08/21/96-i430VX-2A59Ht5BC-00

The PCB is dark green and next to the KB connector there is a 'v 1.8' screened on.

The heatsink on the voltage regulators is anodized electric blue.

The Intel VX chips are:

SB82437VX
SB82371SB

The BIOS chip is:
MX J994533
29F002NTPC-12

It has:

4 ISA slots
3 PCI slots
4 SIMM slots
1 DIMM slot
1 COAST cache slot
A PS2 Mouse socket and a USB header connector.

It is non MMX but has a VRM socket to be able to use 2.9v processors.

The layout corresponds exactly with the pix of a PCChips M520 I have seen posted on the web.

So it's a PCChips M520 ?

Award Flasher 7.63 seems to think not ...

When I try to flash the BIOS (using the 7.63 flasher) I get the following message:

-------
The program's part number does not match with your system !
-------

I have tried using the 19971016L.bin file from the http://go.to/ajz page and the 5300916L.bin from http://microelec.uab.es/~marin/downloads.html page.

I want to flash the BIOS to see if it will fix a hot reset problem it has (the machine will not reboot with Ctrl+ Alt+Del or even the reset switch, it just stays there and will not reboot unless I power it off).

Anyone have any ideas as to what may be wrong?


Thanks in advance,


sawbona
sawbona
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:32 am

Postby evasive » Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:07 am

The usual problem with this board. Because the string used is an illegal one which was later replaced by a datecode, awdflash will ALWAYS show this message. There is one thing you should check, the date code is shown on another place with an S or an L after it. Make sure you use the matching version of the upgrade so an L or S release.

You might want to use the bios found here:
http://wims.host.sk/

it will give you support for harddisks >32GB (watch for the L or S release).
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby sawbona » Wed Jun 05, 2002 9:55 am

Hello Evasive:

Thank you so much for the prompt reply.
Much appreciated. ;-)

I already tried flashing the board with a BIOS file for the M520 that I found in the http://go.to/ajz page.

It is a file called 5201016l.bin and it comes inside another called 520_Bios_19971016l.zip.

Unfortunately, I was feeling very confident and did not heed the Award Flasher warning and proceeded to flash.

The board refused to boot again (lots of beeps and a blank screen) but I was able to solve the problem (I saved the old BIOS file) with the help of a friend and a BIOS flasher.

My BIOS chip is:

MX J994533
29F002NTPC-12

... but I don't know what block size it uses.


Maybe the problem resides right *there*: the block size.

Do you know how/where I can find that info ?


Thanks in advance,

sawbona
sawbona
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:32 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Wed Jun 05, 2002 10:59 am

Well Evasive is a little more on the up and up when it comes to BIOSs, but there is another file.
Try using the 520_Bios_19971016s.zip
Unfortunately the third listed is password protected by Unicore.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby sawbona » Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:01 pm

Hello HJ:

Thanks for the prompt reply.
Much appreciated.


Now for an update on my ordeal:

As things are now, I now cannot flash the BIOS ... ;-(

As posted previously, when I used the latest 'L' version from the http://go.to/ajz page, the machine refused to boot, giving me a blank screen and sounding off repeatedly.

So off I went to a friend's shop to get the old file flashed back into the chip and then things were back to normal.

Now, if I try to flash the BIOS with 'any' file, I not only get
a part number mismatch warning but also a size mismatch warning too.

If I ignore the first warning, I get the second one.
If I ignore the second warning, nothing happens and after a while the machine reboots. ;-DDD

The only reason for my wanting to flash the BIOS is the existence of two problems which I presume may be fixed with a BIOS upgrade:

1. Most important

The machine refuses to do a hot reboot or a reset.
Like when W98 installation says 'Windows is restarting'.
Just won't happen.

Ctrl+Alt+Del will shut off the screen and nothing else.
Fans and HDD keep running.

Same if the reset button is used.

The only solution around this is to power off and then on again.

2. Less important

BIOS will not properly ID the CD-ROM (which can be used in DOS with the drivers and is recognised by W98) or report the four 16Mb EDO SIMMS, just says 'None' even though at POST the full 64Mb are counted.


Any ideas ?


Thanks in advance.


sawbona
sawbona
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:32 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:05 pm

The best advice would be to take the other BIOS file to your friend with the flasher and reprogram your BIOS chip with that.

Or contact Badflash.com for a new chip with a preprogrammed BIOS.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Denniss » Wed Jun 05, 2002 1:47 pm

The MX29F002NT is a 256KByte Flashrom - your Board uses a 128KByte Bios . > this could not be the originally installed chip .
Usually these Boards uses the S-type Bios depending on the installed Flashrom .
Please post the type of the previous installed Flashrom(H.T. ???).
Denniss
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1577
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Around Hannover - Germany

Postby sawbona » Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:56 am

Hello there:

Than you all for your prompt reply.
Much appreciated.

Denniss:
You are quite right ...
This is indeed a chip from another board.

I did not have specs to the old one (H:T: ???) and I was not able to get it flashed at my friend's shop, so we put in a new one from some other board.

The chip was flashed with the previously saved BIOS file and the machine returned to it's previous condition, working exactly like before i.e.: no hot boot, no CDROM recognition and no EDO report, as described in my previous posts and which were the main reason for wanting to flash the BIOS in the first place.

HJ:
Thanks for the suggestion.
As you will see, I managed to do it here at the office using another chip.

Now, an up to date report on the problem.

I was able to obtain a MX 28F1000AP /12v flash BIOS chip(H.T. M10957-1) from a similar board and once booted did a hot swap.

I then flashed the new chip with the Award BIOS Flasher v7.63 and the file 100697S file from the http://wims.host.sk page.

Now it works .... ;-D

Evidently, the old BIOS file present in the machine was either the wrong one or was flawed.

The machine now happily reboots with Ctrl+Alt+Del or the reset switch and the BIOS reports both the CDROM and the RAM properly.

The only hitch is that I cannot get it to use the 75Mhz. bus setting, but that's all ...


Thank you all so very much for your imput.


Best regards,



sawbona
sawbona
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:32 am

Postby Aussie » Thu Jun 06, 2002 9:49 am

The following is an extract from the M520 page at The PcChips Lottery:-

Special Infos for the M520 :

This board is also known as Amptron PM7900
These Boards share the same BIOS:M520,M525,M530,M535,M538,M549,A101 V1.4
The latest Bios should support HDDs over 8GB and up to 32 GB.
The latest Bios may prevent you from using 75MHz.
The VX-Chipset cannot handle usual 64 MByte SDRam (apart from very expensive special modules). This is not a Bios Problem, this is a chipset limit.
There is a patched Bios available here, which does support drives up to 64GB.



http://www.stud.fernuni-hagen.de/q3998142/pcchips/index.html


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia


Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests