The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:40 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:45 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 7:51 pm
Posts: 4
I installed PC3200s in my mobo too... hmmm. But I thought if you install PC3200s in a mobo that is compatible with PC2700s, it will just run the PC3200s at a lower speed???? Does anyone know?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: I FIGURED IT OUT!!!
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:49 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 7:51 pm
Posts: 4
After all this and thinking it was a security thing from HP... I didn't have the 12V connector connected to this mobo. Once I connected it, I got the thing to boot up with my PC3200 (DDR 400) ram.. everything a'ok

hallelujah!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:42 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Great to hear!!
We often overlook the simple factors.. and wonder why we are so "blind"!
Normally, faster memory will clock down to the intended system bus speeds. BUT if a specific type of memory is designated, then only that type can be successfully installed.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:57 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 6:04 pm
Posts: 8
Anyone know if the SATA ports on this mobo support 300 Mb/s rate?

I bought a Maxtor 500 GB SATA HDD and it has jumper pin set to 150 Mb/s by default. I would like to remove the jumper pin to get the 300 Mb/s rate.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:20 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
i865 chipset has SATA not SATA2 controller in the southbridge.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:35 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:31 pm
Posts: 2
Location: WNY
with help from evasive and maneek, I hooked up front today. Thanks for the help! What are you peeps using for drivers, the ones on Asus, or HP?
Thanks for the very helpful forum!!
Cheerz!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:06 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 6:04 pm
Posts: 8
[quote="rkp"]with help from evasive and maneek, I hooked up front today. Thanks for the help! What are you peeps using for drivers, the ones on Asus, or HP?
Thanks for the very helpful forum!!
Cheerz![/quote]

I downloaded :

- (786B2 family) v2.43 BIOS from HP
- Broadcom NetExtreme Gigabit Ethernet for HP
- Intel 82865G Graphics Controller from Intel
- SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio from HP

It all works!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:41 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
You could have downloaded the chipset drivers from Intel but since everything is already working, let them be.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:43 am 
I'm about to install this same mobo. I read all the past posts and have all the drivers suggested. Before I install, how is the mobo working? Any complaints or install tips?

Thank you


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:37 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 6:04 pm
Posts: 8
I've been using with mobo for a few weeks without any problems. I think it's a great deal for those using it as a replacement.

Anyone been able to find the i/o backplate shield for this mobo? I went to
the Asus online store and couldn't find any direct fit but didn't want to risk
buying something that looked like it fit. Anyone know for sure which i/o
shield fits this mobo?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group