Mobo Info

The place to post if you are having trouble identifying your motherboard.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby evasive » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:23 am

You need DIMMs with 16 chips, 8 on each side if you want to use 256MB DIMMs. The chipset does not support high-density chips which is what is on most 256MB modules. They have only 8 chips...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby useit » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:53 pm

evasive, thank's a lot my friend, that was correct. I've tested it and it worked fine.
A DIMM of 512 is out of question, right?
The max of each slot is 256MB, isn't it?

Thank's
useit
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:55 am

Postby evasive » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:32 pm

Yep, 256MB is the absolute maximum. Thanks for the feedback and happy computing!
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby useit » Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:03 am

Just "one" more question:

Does this processor:

http://ark.intel.com/products/27534/Int ... 33-MHz-FSB
or
http://ark.intel.com/products/27525/Int ... 33-MHz-FSB

works fine in this Motherboard? I would make some changes in MoBo configuration, or is just change de processor and everything else iqual?

One more tk's guys
;)
useit
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:55 am

Postby Karlsweldt » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:10 am

The Socket 370 design used a CPU with "extra" pins that were dedicated to setting the FSB speed, core voltages and multiplier ratio. Some board designs were totally "jumper-less", others had specific jumpers to set a range of speeds. Depends on the year of issue. Some designs had a jumper block that covered up to six pairs of pins.. setting auto configuration.
Since your board has a 133 MHz FSB base, likely those processor types noted will work fine. But ensure the memory used is rated at the FSB speed! Having the mobo manual would reveal what processor/memory types are compatible, as well as speed ranges.
Memory modules have a keying slot (or two) to ensure they are used only in the intended slot for the system design. The older motherboard designs can only recognize single-density memory modules.
Ensure your PSU has enough reserve to power those CPU types. Minimal 400 watts or higher. And that the heat sink is sufficient to keep them within safe temperature ranges.
There were different design models for the Pentium III processor. Most common was the "flip-chip", "Coppermine" and "Tualatin" versions. This WIKI link about the Pentium III may be of interest.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby useit » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:28 pm

I followed your advice, and read the WIKI...damn...i was much more in doubt after, because this motherboard says "socket 370 (intel coppermineTM) Processors", and you wrote "those processor types noted will work fine". The 1.4 processor is Tualatin....
Someone to tie this situacion pealse!!!
useit
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:55 am

Postby evasive » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:56 am

The VT82C693A north bridge chip in your board does NOT support Tualatin core processors.
http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/chips ... /index.jsp

One of the biggest issues with older chipsets is the lower core voltage:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_III

Alas the VIA wiki does not give info on that:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VIA_chipsets

The only VIA chipsets that support Tualatins have a model ending in T like this one:
http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/chips ... /index.jsp
because their northbridge can detect and properly set voltages for a Tualatin core processor.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:48 am

:oops:
Sorry if I misled.. having a bad cold fouls one's thoughts!
The Tualatin CPU indeed works with only specific motherboard types. But the lesser models should work properly. There is a stepping code on Intel® processors.. a true identity link to the type and use parameters.
While the Socket 370 design is considered "obsolete" and no longer supported, their useful life is not yet over. Somewhere in my archives, I have the list of all Pentium II and Pentium III stepping codes and model specs.
Most Pentium III types operated up to 600 Mhz.. some up to 1.1 Ghz, and were compatible with most Socket 370 designs.
Here are some links to the Intel processor types..
http://ark.intel.com/products/family/59 ... -Processor
http://www.intel.com/support/processors ... 023730.htm
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby rascard2007 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:32 pm

the Socket 370 were produced in three differente packages PPGA, FCPGA and FCPGAII, only the last one supports the Tualatin family of CPU´s
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Previous

Return to Motherboard Identification Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest