Norton products. Anyone like them or hate them?

This is the place where all heated debates shall reside. Non-tech topics allowed. Personal attacks will not be tolerated. "Enter at your own Risk".

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Norton products. Anyone like them or hate them?

Postby beeboy » Sat Jan 17, 2004 3:03 pm

A few years ago I was introduced to my new computer with Mcafee installed. I soon gave up on Mcafee because of lack of email support in my version.
I then moved up to Norton (remember I'm a newbie at this time) Sytem Works. I figure I have the ultimate tools - wrong.
In the period of a year I had nothing but trouble. I was wiped out by virus at least twice and Norton tools fixed my registry so good I almost wore out my ME cd reinstalling the OS. I was tirering of losing my data.
But it was a learning experience and I enjoyed learning how to reformat.
After much research and some trial and error. I was able to find innovative new products from small companies to try. I was amazed at the performance, small size, and stability these tools offered. I've never looked back.
In all fairness to Norton, I have never tried their 2003 and 04 products.
I think its all part of the newbie experience and one has to go through these growing pains.
beeboy
Black Belt
Black Belt

Postby peta_byte » Sat Jan 17, 2004 4:45 pm

I don't care for norton anymore.. (same for Mcafee) too bloated for my liking.. process intensive.. I run a few other AV's, AVG, f-prot (dos and windows), panda, kapersky.. none of which I leave running actively.. only active processes (of this nature) I keep.. is my sygate FW and pestcontrol.
Need a free host ? click here
Need a free small host for hotlinking sigs into a forum ? click here
peta_byte
Black Belt
Black Belt

Postby Peanya » Sat Jan 17, 2004 5:01 pm