The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:18 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Possible to run xp home?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:05 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
I have a:

Intel p3 800 mhz /w mmx
256 mb pc 100 sd
nvidia 32 mb tnt2 m64

Would it be a waste of an upg from 98se? I've used my 98 for so long.. I would like to better driver support of xp.. but would it run *fairly* well?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 5:32 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 714
Location: Colorado
It should, I think the minimum for winxp is 333mhz or something

-Jon-

_________________
My website
http://www.jmstacey.net


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 4837
I think XP should work fine on that system. I personally like XP a lot better than 98.

_________________
Image

What is Folding?
Wookie's F@H Site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:27 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
been running on p2-350/256/8mb vid for a while and even that was bearable. don't expect any speed records though...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
i would disable the default xp interface though, saves some ram......
right click my computer, then go to properties>advanced>performance> then uncheck all the boxes with the exception of "use common tasks in folders"


Last edited by son0rous on Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:51 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 4837
I set the interface to look like Win98/2K on all of my XP computers. It's faster, and, in my opinion, it looks nicer. :)

_________________
Image

What is Folding?
Wookie's F@H Site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 7:12 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 714
Location: Colorado
CDBurner wrote:
I set the interface to look like Win98/2K on all of my XP computers. It's faster, and, in my opinion, it looks nicer. :)


I agree.

-Jon-

_________________
My website
http://www.jmstacey.net


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 8:04 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
not much difference between my current desktop and the win2k one before this either. I think I've disabled about all graphical gizmo's of XP...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 8:34 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:11 pm
Posts: 1432
Location: Mucus City, USA
n30nx wrote:
Intel p3 800 mhz /w mmx
256 mb pc 100 sd
nvidia 32 mb tnt2 m64

That's adequate for XP. Another 256MB RAM would make a world of difference.

XP might cure some problems but could create others. Some Win98 compatible devices -- scanners, tape drives and such -- don't get along with XP at all.

Pick yer poison.

_________________
-- Campy

"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 11:07 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
thats alright, no tape drives for me :o

But seriously, would it be slow? slow multi tasking I mean, with some ie windows, maybe an msn 6 window, and winamp 2? and on the non xp gui, the win98 look, increase ram too?. Would my games like cs run any slower? I'm really looking into this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group