Win98se or XP

This is the place where all heated debates shall reside. Non-tech topics allowed. Personal attacks will not be tolerated. "Enter at your own Risk".

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Win98se or XP

Postby Darkstar_Surfers » Tue Dec 30, 2003 10:11 am

I have been using win98se for the past few years and have had no end of problems with my system. Either a faulty hard drive or a virus evey few months. Either way I need to re-build yet again as my system is unstable and getting to be a real pain. I have aquired a copy of XP only to be told to stick to win98se as XP will kill my system.

What do you think.

I have
Asus A7A266 with AMD1400
640M of 133
Voodoo3 3500 TV
120G Caviar EIDE 7200rpm
52x32x52 CD-RW
DVD Rom
Darkstar_Surfers
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 4:36 pm

Postby Toby B. » Tue Dec 30, 2003 10:25 am

640 MB of RAM??? :? what size chips are you using? Do you mean 64MB?

As far as Windows 98SE or Windows XP, its just a matter of preference. I like it, freinds of mine that have it hate it with a passion.

XP is more driver freindly than 98SE, but is more tempermental with big hardware changes.

The minimum recommended amount of RAM for use of Windows XP is 128MB, The more you have installed the better off you are.
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Darkstar_Surfers » Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:22 pm

I have two 256M and one 128M, I think that adds up to 640M.

Thanks for the pointers
Darkstar_Surfers
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 4:36 pm

Postby Aussie » Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:25 pm

640 MB of RAM??? what size chips are you using? Do you mean 64MB?


1 x 512 + 1 x 128 = 640Mb for example. :P


Darkstar_Surfers your hardware is more than capable of running Windows XP and I'm sure that you will find it a more stable and capable operating system than Win98 ever was although you can't blame any OS for hard drive failures or viruses.

It might pay to search for WinXP drivers for your add in cards & peripherals before you install the operating system just to be on the safe side.

Just be sure to visit Windows Update as soon as you get the OS loaded and grab all of the critical updates needed.



Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby miki02131 » Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:27 pm

With that amount of RAM, you should definitely go with XP. There is no doubt about it. Actually I recommend XP Pro.

Sorry to say that but I don't think the rules you use to add two 256 to 640 exist.
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258
miki02131
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2161
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 11:34 am
Location: Newport, Rhode Island USA

Postby Darkstar_Surfers » Tue Dec 30, 2003 3:32 pm

Just checked.

Under 'My Computer', 'System' it does say I have 639M.

Still I thought 256 + 256 +128 is 640, I seem to have lost a M some where, never mind, I never was good at arithmetic.
Darkstar_Surfers
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 4:36 pm

Postby FatMikel » Tue Dec 30, 2003 3:58 pm

256 + 256 ( 512 ) + 128 = 640, you lot sure are bad at maths. lol :lol:

go for windows xp home or professional, both are good, pro has a few more security features and network things.
FatMikel
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 2:25 pm
Location: Merseyside, UK

Postby Tolemac » Tue Dec 30, 2003 6:42 pm

I have to agree with everyone else. XP would be the thing to do. :wink:
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby beeboy » Tue Dec 30, 2003 7:55 pm

Yes. Go with Xp. Easy to install. Xp has excellent hardware support. I dont have to install a single driver for mine including printer and scanner.
beeboy
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 4:55 pm
Location: Canada

Postby BrevCampagnolo » Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:52 pm

That missing 1MB RAM probably means you have hardware that does crunching but doesn’t have a processor. The OS doesn’t see that one MB because the hardware has commandeered it. On-board video would’ve been my first guess but I see you have a Voodoo3 in your SysSpecs.

As for the OS, XP definitely is the least evil of all Microsloth’s desktop OSes. And it does a happy dance if you have 512MB RAM or more, so you’re golden there.

If you go with XP, be prepared for the massive updates. Between SP1 and all the necessary security updates, you’re looking at ~200MB of downloads. You can cut that down to ~65MB if you use an XP installation CD that has SP1 incorporated. It’s called slipstreaming, and doesn’t come on MS disks; you’d have to find a friend/acquaintance who’s created the slipstreamed installation CD.
-- Campy

"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949
BrevCampagnolo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:11 pm
Location: Mucus City, USA

Next

Return to The Hundred Year War

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests