The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Debian Linux on AmigaONE
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 5:23 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 2:14 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Peterborough Uk ..Ex Kalamunda, W.A.
Well ... I've received my new AmigaONE motherboard yesterday....The new Amiga operating system (Os4) is still being developed, not due for release until October..

So Debian Linux ( PPC) has been shipped with it.
I've already fitted it into the Thermaltake tower I bought ready for it but have run out of dosh before I could complete the build.

Still gotta get RAM . Apparently, rumour has it that linux has problems with more than 512Mb.
DVDwriter
PSU .. Damn case didn't come with one !!
Keyboard
Trackball .... I hate mice ... The x86 system I'm using now has a trackball (logitech) which is MUCH better than a rodent.


I should be able to purchase those bits next week as I'm filming a wedding tomorrow.

Then the fun & games installing linux will begin !!

Image


I'll keep yaz posted.

_________________
The Outcast Aussie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 5:31 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 1:47 pm
Posts: 8955
Location: Ottawa, Canada
thats is very cool

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 5:54 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 4:55 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Canada
I have never heard about linux having trouble with high ram. I use 768mb ram and never had a problem and I've tried quite a few different distros out. Windows 98 and Me do have a problem with over 500mb ram. You need to edit a system file to make it work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 7:07 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 2:14 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Peterborough Uk ..Ex Kalamunda, W.A.
Thats interesting ..( NO Ram problem)

Might be a quirk of PPC linux though.

_________________
The Outcast Aussie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 7:09 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 1:47 pm
Posts: 8955
Location: Ottawa, Canada
You should ask Harware Junkie, he is a linux buff around here.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group