What type of software are AMDs not compatible with??

This is the place where all heated debates shall reside. Non-tech topics allowed. Personal attacks will not be tolerated. "Enter at your own Risk".

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Pette Broad » Sun Aug 31, 2003 5:15 pm

joshvee wrote:Some games have trouble running on AMD just check the games before you buy them


The only games I know that won't run on AMD are pretty old stuff like Zool, or anything from Gremlin Software from the mid 90's.

Pete
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby Black Wolf » Sun Aug 31, 2003 10:44 pm

Older games like Terminal velocity (a classic) were written for certain hardware, including the intel line of processors.

So with an AMD proccesor running the show the system could some times come unstable when playing the game since it was not written for that hardware.

Of course now this no longer a problem.
Image
Black Wolf
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 8955
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 1:47 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Postby snacky » Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:22 am

I don't buy it. I used to play Terminal Velocity on an old AMD 486 clone. The only sense I can make of this is that maybe there have been problems that were fixed by BIOS revisions.
The ultimate hacktivist activity is the spawning and swarming of myriad Robot AI Minds evolving towards full civil rights on a par with Homo Sapiens and towards a superintelligence beyond any human IQ.
snacky
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 1:56 pm
Location: I like snacks

Postby joshvee » Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:42 am

If you have been following other posts you will see that I have had my mind changed about AMD since I wrote my first post in this thread......... and the bad experiences with AMD that I was referring to are outdated. The new AMDs and the bios updates make AMD CPUs as good as Intel in compatibility. :D
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Gigabyte

Postby joshvee » Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:55 am

However On that note, There are ppl in this forum who are not willing to give Gigabyte mobos a shot and put Gigabyte down when ever I recommend Gigabyte or even mention Gigabyte. Now Gigabyte did have crappy OEM mobos in the past, but Gigabyte has done the same thing as AMD and Gigabyte has now drastically improved their Gigabyte mobos. So lets show Gigabyte the same leniency that AMD has received. As Gigabyte is now a board worth looking at for Intel CPUs. (wow I did it....I managed to say Gigabyte 12 times in 1 post :D )
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Gigabyte

Postby son0rous » Mon Sep 01, 2003 1:30 am

joshvee wrote:(wow I did it....I managed to say Gigabyte 12 times in 1 post :D )


11 times
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm

Re: Gigabyte

Postby joshvee » Mon Sep 01, 2003 1:53 am

Smurf_Pimp wrote:11 times

12 times.....you forgot to count the subject heading.. :D
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby son0rous » Mon Sep 01, 2003 11:24 am

nobody ever puts in a subject.....well at least i never do
son0rous
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm

Postby joshvee » Mon Sep 01, 2003 11:30 am

Smurf_Pimp wrote:nobody ever puts in a subject.....well at least i never do


Hehe yup I thought I'd sneak one more Gigabyte in where no one would notice.......kinda like subliminal mesages....... :idea: :D
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby evasive » Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:18 pm

Well, I may have to revise my vision on Gigabyte then. But first I'll have to get my hands on one.

Note: not just the OEM mobo's were crappy. Some retail models too. Agreed, that was some time ago.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to The Hundred Year War

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot] and 1 guest