The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 5:15 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
joshvee wrote:
Some games have trouble running on AMD just check the games before you buy them


The only games I know that won't run on AMD are pretty old stuff like Zool, or anything from Gremlin Software from the mid 90's.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 10:44 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 1:47 pm
Posts: 8955
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Older games like Terminal velocity (a classic) were written for certain hardware, including the intel line of processors.

So with an AMD proccesor running the show the system could some times come unstable when playing the game since it was not written for that hardware.

Of course now this no longer a problem.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:22 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 1:56 pm
Posts: 178
Location: I like snacks
I don't buy it. I used to play Terminal Velocity on an old AMD 486 clone. The only sense I can make of this is that maybe there have been problems that were fixed by BIOS revisions.

_________________
The ultimate hacktivist activity is the spawning and swarming of myriad Robot AI Minds evolving towards full civil rights on a par with Homo Sapiens and towards a superintelligence beyond any human IQ.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
If you have been following other posts you will see that I have had my mind changed about AMD since I wrote my first post in this thread......... and the bad experiences with AMD that I was referring to are outdated. The new AMDs and the bios updates make AMD CPUs as good as Intel in compatibility. :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Gigabyte
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:55 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
However On that note, There are ppl in this forum who are not willing to give Gigabyte mobos a shot and put Gigabyte down when ever I recommend Gigabyte or even mention Gigabyte. Now Gigabyte did have crappy OEM mobos in the past, but Gigabyte has done the same thing as AMD and Gigabyte has now drastically improved their Gigabyte mobos. So lets show Gigabyte the same leniency that AMD has received. As Gigabyte is now a board worth looking at for Intel CPUs. (wow I did it....I managed to say Gigabyte 12 times in 1 post :D )

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 1:30 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
joshvee wrote:
(wow I did it....I managed to say Gigabyte 12 times in 1 post :D )


11 times


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Gigabyte
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 1:53 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
Smurf_Pimp wrote:
11 times

12 times.....you forgot to count the subject heading.. :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 11:24 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
nobody ever puts in a subject.....well at least i never do


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 11:30 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
Smurf_Pimp wrote:
nobody ever puts in a subject.....well at least i never do


Hehe yup I thought I'd sneak one more Gigabyte in where no one would notice.......kinda like subliminal mesages....... :idea: :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:18 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Well, I may have to revise my vision on Gigabyte then. But first I'll have to get my hands on one.

Note: not just the OEM mobo's were crappy. Some retail models too. Agreed, that was some time ago.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group