My new PC

This is the place where all heated debates shall reside. Non-tech topics allowed. Personal attacks will not be tolerated. "Enter at your own Risk".

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby GEFORCEFreek » Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:22 am

that WildCat4 is one bloody fast bugger... I wonder what HL2 will run like on it... what do u use it for modelling? 3ds max? or maya? or lightwave?
GEFORCEFreek
 

Postby joshvee » Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:52 am

*edited* showing off
Last edited by joshvee on Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby joshvee » Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:54 am

*edited* showing off
Last edited by joshvee on Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby joshvee » Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:06 am

joshvee wrote:
I'm using...a Wildcat 4 7210 384meg 256-bit DDR Dual processor 8x AGP VGA card so I have 2 blocks for that and one more for the southbridge. the blocks are by WaterChill.


sorry small typo....the water block is for the NORTBRIDGE. the southbridge is fan cooled.
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Tulatin » Sun Aug 10, 2003 12:21 pm

That's a nice setup dude - the aquarius tubes fit onto those waterchill blocks properly without modifcation, or what did u have to do to em, and what do they run for. Now, i take it you followed asetek's zip tie method for mounting the morthbridge block?
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby joshvee » Sun Aug 10, 2003 12:58 pm

Tulatin wrote:That's a nice setup dude - the aquarius tubes fit onto those waterchill blocks properly without modifcation, or what did u have to do to em, and what do they run for. Now, i take it you followed asetek's zip tie method for mounting the morthbridge block?


Nope I used my own tubing for the Asteks, I only used the original tubing for the CPU block. Obviously I also used T and Y connector tubes where necessary.

To mount the northbridge block I used thermal epoxy about 1cm wide around the edge (very strong stuff) and a dab of arctic silver 3 in the middle.
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Tulatin » Sun Aug 10, 2003 1:19 pm

Oh - so how did you fit these larger tubes unto the pump with the smaller ones - y junctions with 2 different fitting sizes?
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby joshvee » Sun Aug 10, 2003 1:51 pm

Tulatin wrote:Oh - so how did you fit these larger tubes unto the pump with the smaller ones - y junctions with 2 different fitting sizes?


nope, straight hard plastic tube adaptors...large on one end small on the other, and plenty of silastic clear boat sealent and tube ties.
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Tulatin » Sun Aug 10, 2003 3:25 pm

Oh - makes sense.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby joshvee » Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:00 am

One final note. Ppl are asking me about the timer.
The timer only runs the water cooling NOT the thermo electrics. This is so the water cooling removes any leftover heat in the peltier plate and in theory also quickly removes the leftover heat in the CPU after shutdown, reducing heat stress. (whether it works or not it still looks cool :D )
Image
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

PreviousNext

Return to The Hundred Year War

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest