What's easier to work with AMD or Intel.

This is the place where all heated debates shall reside. Non-tech topics allowed. Personal attacks will not be tolerated. "Enter at your own Risk".

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby useless comment » Tue Jun 10, 2003 5:26 pm

Miki, when someone asks you if you like Ford or Chevy better, which of the following are included in your answer?:

1. I like xxxx cars/trucks cuz you can work on them yourself without any hassle.
2. I like xxxx cars/trucks cuz they always have consistently low recall rates.
3. I like xxxx cars/trucks cuz their 3rd quarter profits are up.
4. I like xxxx cars/trucks cuz (insert extensive explanation on how an internal combustion engine works and the theory behind it).

Just curious because you gave a #4 answer to a simple question that deserved a #1 and maybe a #2 answer.
useless comment
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 1:01 am

Postby evasive » Tue Jun 10, 2003 6:30 pm

First time and second time someone asks the question: yes. Once you are asking the same question several times, you can expect an answer like this. Done this myself, very effective. As you just have proven...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Gator999 » Thu Jun 12, 2003 4:39 am

I have only worked on AMD's I was tempted towards the Intel due to the ease of mounting HSF's.
Still got Amd, if only AMD would improve the HSF mounting :!:
Asus Maximus Formula,3gig Core Duo, 4Gb Geil 1066,HIS 5970, Samsumg S203 Dvd-RW, Samsung Spinpoint 1 tb HDDx2, Enermax Liberty 620w, HP w 2207h monitor, Antec 900 case
Gator999
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Portsmouth UK

Postby jtcartboy » Wed Jul 02, 2003 4:21 am

Well, you know what I will say

Now that I have done both intel and AMD i must say, really I had no problems on either one. Intel is great so is AMD, I personally use AMD and I must say, the HSF really isn't very hard neither is the intel. So I really don't have a pref, but that black retention bracket does look cool.
Athlon XP 2500+ OCd to 2.25 GHz w/360fsb
Asus A7N8X-Deluxe Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS 2x512
Ati Radeon 9600pro OCd to 509 Core 317 Mem

Berkeley isn't really america it should be anexed!!
jtcartboy
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 5:52 am

Postby Aaron » Thu Jul 03, 2003 8:14 pm

I Have only used AMD Processors for each system i have built! Great CPU and cant wait for all the 64-Bit Series to arrive. I Have never had any problems installing the Amd CPU or HSF. Thumbs up to AMD!
CPU: AMD 2400+ XP
MOBO: Abit AT7 Max 2
RAM: 2X 512 MB CORSAIR DDR 400 RAM
VIDEO: ATI 256MB Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO
HD: 80GB Western Digital & 20GB Seagate
OS : Microsoft XP Pro
CD : LG 52X24X52X Cd Burner
Next Week: Pioneer DVD-RW/+RW 106
Aaron
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 7:10 am
Location: Latin

Postby Dano » Thu Jul 03, 2003 10:49 pm

this is a bit off topic but i have heard that intel is waiting to release the P5 for the release of the AMD 64 bit proc., so is the P5 64bit?
Dano
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 5:41 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Postby jtcartboy » Sun Jul 06, 2003 12:09 pm

no the p5 is nor 64 bit. and the rumor mill claims that Half Life 2 and Doom 3 are going to have 64 bit numbers released in limited quantities or just by order online or something like that I sure hope so. 8)
Athlon XP 2500+ OCd to 2.25 GHz w/360fsb
Asus A7N8X-Deluxe Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS 2x512
Ati Radeon 9600pro OCd to 509 Core 317 Mem

Berkeley isn't really america it should be anexed!!
jtcartboy
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 5:52 am

Previous

Return to The Hundred Year War

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest