The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

If you had around $100 to spend on a new video card, which of the following would you choose?
GeForce 4 MX 440 15%  15%  [ 10 ]
ATI Radeon 8500 58%  58%  [ 38 ]
GeForce 3 Ti200 27%  27%  [ 18 ]
Total votes : 66
Author Message
 Post subject: hmm
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2002 5:29 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 4:12 am
Posts: 965
Location: longisland
I will go with ti200, overclock to a geforce 3, drivers are better(not all)
both have strong points when compaired.

3d mark: raedon geforce ti200 o/c
6683 6562 @1024x768x32
4287 4297 @1600x1200x32

pix fill rate: 664.8 671 1024x768

q3 arena higher fps with geforce, vertex shading raedon, pix shading geforce

i own both, owned both the 8500 is gone.
next time who knows

_________________
Help humanity join Motherboards.org Folding
IBM X440 IBM Netfinity x 2
Abit NF7S replaced by DFI Lan Party
2600+Mobile@2540
2x1Ghz OCZ
MSI RX9800pro R360
Aardvark ProQ10
Skyhawk Aluminum



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 4:10 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 910
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Raw FPS is useless in most games. Whether you have 100FPS or 300fps you won't be able to tell the difference. Now let's see. I can run Unreal Tournament 2003 (demo) on my pc at the highest available video settings in the game, plus forcing 16x Anti Aliasing. (with no performance drop) And I'm running my Radeon 8500LE at a lower clock than what I ran that test shown in my signature. If you ask me for it's age the Radeon 8500 is a really good card. I switched from a Geforce2MX to my Radeon and I'm happy with the change. I'm running Win XP with the latest Catalyst drivers from ATI and guess what, no problems anywhere in the games I play regularly. As for the ones that cause problems, did you ever think of checking the ATI web site for fixes?? they post info saying certain games have issues, most of which only require an update to directX files.

_________________
ABIT NF7-S | Athlon 2500XP @ 12x200 | Corsair HydroCool200 | 3DMark2K1 V330 = 15722 ~ 3DMark03 V340 = 4988
-----------
2nd pc: Dual PII 350 running Fedora Core 2
-----------
3rd pc: Dual Intel PPro 200MHz (Linux) ->decomissioned due to heat problems


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 3:00 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 12:14 pm
Posts: 5
I only wish that ATI would make drivers for *nix. Up till now XFree86 made thier own drivers for them.

ATI is still awesome though and nVidia doesnt make drivers for BSD which i use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2002 7:46 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:23 pm
Posts: 50
Radeon 8500s cost like 80 bucks at pricewatch --- thats nothing, and they fly. NOTHING can beat it 4 the price.

OH HELL VOODOO 5 5500 FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
VOODOO 4 4500 FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
VOODOO 3 3500 FROEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2002 8:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:34 am
Posts: 910
Location: The Linux Lounge
danoaks15 wrote:
I only wish that ATI would make drivers for *nix. Up till now XFree86 made thier own drivers for them.

ATI is still awesome though and nVidia doesnt make drivers for BSD which i use.


danoaks15 - there's a new Radeon driver for Linux on the ATI website. Try this:

http://www.ati.com/support/products/pc/ ... ivers.html

They were just put out there in August but be very careful to have the correct version of XFree86 before trying to install. Also if you're using SuSE 8.0 they left a package off the CD - I think it's called xf86_glx. You'll need that in order to get your 3D working. If you have any trouble let me know. It took me 2 weeks to get it working correctly - but it works now and BOY does it work :!: BTW - I'm using SuSE 8.0 with an ATI Radeon LE 128MB.

Good luck 8)

_________________
"You can't go to Windows Update and get a patch for stupidity." - Kevin Mitnick


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:44 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 5:22 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Funny how the timing worked out for reading this post! Been building a machine on a budget for the company I work for and naturally I needed a decent card for the occasional foray into Unreal Tournament lan frag fests for under a hundred bucks (all the budget would allow since I was competeing with a DELL for the money). Found a RADEON 8500 PRO for $91.00 on ebay. Heres the rest of the system and costs for the parts:

ASUS P4S533 mobo $69.00
P4 2,4ghz cpu (533 fsb) $139.99
512 megs of PC 2700 w/heatsink (samsung) $99.00
OKIA 420 watt P/S (budget remember?)$12.00
Sony 16XDVD $49.00
TEAC 40X12X48 CDRW $79.00
ZALMAN 5500 CPU COOLER (dont like how it attaches, but..) $12.00
3 ENERMAX 80mm case fans $13.00
Rounded IDE and floppy cables $12.00
ANTEC keyboard $7.00
HP optical mouse $12.49
DELL P992 19" TRINITRON monitor $169.00 (SWEET!)
SEAGATE 80 gig BARRACUDA h/d $60.00
MITSUMI 3.5" floppy $9.00
RADEON 8500 PRO $91.00
HYDRAULIC ATX case $29.00
WINDOWS XP PRO $99.00

I did have to send the mobo back as it simply wouldnt post. ASUS is supposed to be sending me a new one. Great lil system for the dough though eh? Bet it will run crop circles around that DELL too!

_________________
AMD FX-53
ASUS SK8V
2 WD RAPTORS (raid 0)
BFG 6800ULTRA OC
1 gig OCZ DDR400 (registered)
THERMALTAKE SILENT BOOST COOLER


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 12:21 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 5:27 am
Posts: 84
Location: St Louis, Mo
I have the geforce3 ti200 64M and i really cant compare it's performance to another vidcard because this is the only quality vidcard i've worked with.
I will say that i have no complaints. You can get em fopr around $80.
From what i understand this vidcard can exceptionally handle anything you can throw at it. If im wrong here plz speak out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: WHY RADION!!!
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 1:03 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 6:34 pm
Posts: 60
Location: kettle falls
RADION SUCKS

Ok for all of you who voted radion i feel sorry for your mothers, i have had alot of experience with Nvidia and Radion cards, and Nvidia All th way baby Radion needs to get their act together on their drivers and just all in all need better cards. My 4600 beat out a 9700 pro on all benchmarks with same mobo ram and processor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 1:03 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17135
Location: England
I have a 8500LE and a GF3Ti200, both very good, me personally prefer my 8500..... :lol:

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2003 12:03 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 12:00 am
Posts: 1359
ATi for me, for an overall quality package. But it's a toss-up in performance: 8500's perform below gf3ti's in UT2k3, by a noticeable margin. I currently am using a Ti500 instead of a Radeon 8500 because all I play is Americas Army and don't use a second screen, and I really cannot notice much of a difference in quality between the two cards.
As for drivers, nVidia's drivers suck, you have it backwards. nVidia's detonator drivers rarely fix a problem, and when they do it normally hinders performance (of late). Their nVidia control panel is also very simple, whereas the ATi control panel is very professional and customizable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group