"Forbidden" error

Please post here with problems or errors you receive while using the forums. This is not for hardware tech support. If you are having problems logging in or registering please post here (you can post as guest - post the username you are having issues with - DO NOT POST YOUR PASSWORD)

Moderator: The Mod Squad

"Forbidden" error

Postby greytrains » Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:31 am

I am getting a "Forbidden" error message every so often when I try to get into any of the forums or the self search. The only way I can get in is to restart IE.
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790)

"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have."
Gerald Ford (1913 - 2006)
greytrains
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:48 pm
Location: Harney, MD

Postby snap355 » Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:16 am

Use firefox :D
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Re: "Forbidden" error

Postby KURIAKI » Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:41 am

dhuber wrote:I am getting a "Forbidden" error message


Me too.
------------------------------------------
More than 100,000 BIOS strings in my database just now!
------------------------------------------
Saludos desde Cancun, Mexico
KURIAKI
Image
KURIAKI
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 664
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Cancun - Mexico

Postby greytrains » Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:26 pm

snap355 wrote:Use firefox :D


Can't this is a work computer
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790)

"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have."
Gerald Ford (1913 - 2006)
greytrains
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:48 pm
Location: Harney, MD

Postby snap355 » Fri Jan 14, 2005 6:08 pm

Tested it with IE 6 and all the latest patches, no probs so far
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Postby MoboCop » Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:24 pm

can you supply a link?
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted - Albert Einstien
MoboCop
Drunken Master
 
Posts: 8854
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Fresno

Postby Mark H » Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:41 pm

I get it also:

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /forums/viewtopic.php on this server.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apache Server at www.motherboards.org Port 80


I also noticed, when I clicked on this topic, I briefly saw the "Forbidden" page.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Toby B. » Thu Jan 20, 2005 8:03 pm

I have recieved this error once and that has been it since..

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /forums/viewtopic.php on this server.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apache Server at www.motherboards.org Port 80
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Myth » Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:16 am

I get it to every now and then. It seems to have started about a week ago. The only way around it is to shut down IE and restart it. Then, everything works properly.
Image
Image
Myth
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3094
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:13 pm
Location: Limboland

Postby EmilyB » Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:41 am

Ive never mentioned it before, because the ratio between time spent here and getting that error for me personally is less than 1 in every 1000 and so it was never a problem, I even managed to "fix" with a simple browser refresh. But I do remember seeing it before, just a couple of times.

I hate pretending to be techie (because we all know Im not) but for me it seems to happen with a "stale" login i.e. if for example I leave myself logged in overnight (6-7 hours) and so theres obviously no "activity" from me during that period, then I might get this error when I navigate anywhere.
EmilyB
 

Next

Return to Forum Problems/Errors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests