The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:49 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:08 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
The key word is "certificate" which indicates the site's trustworthiness, having posted its intent in honesty and user-friendly manners, and is registered with various other organizations. If the "certificate" has expired or is not currently distributed, then the Firewall program will block access by default.

Quoted from Windows "Help".. Certificates:
Quote:
A collection of data used for authentication and secure exchange of information on nonsecured networks, such as the Internet. A certificate securely binds a public encryption key to the entity that holds the corresponding private encryption key. Certificates are digitally signed by the issuing certification authority and can be managed for a user, a computer, or a service. The most widely accepted format for certificates is defined by the ITU-T X.509 international standard.

See also certification authority; ITU-T; private key; public key; service.


From Verisign:
From a Google search:

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:30 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 9:33 pm
Posts: 887
Location: NH
Thanks Karl. That's probably what I was overlooking.

_________________
I tried using a "Point of View Gun", but my aim was lousy. ;-)

ASUS K8N, AMD Sempron 3100+(1.8ghz), 1gb RAM, eVGA 5500FX 256mb AGP, two WD120gb SATA drives in RAID 0 (striping), 450w power supply.

Fold well, so that others may prosper.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:46 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:59 pm
Posts: 1960
Location: Orange County, California
Alright, I found a work-around for those of you (including me) who are still having login issues:

Problem:

Logging in through the main page doesn't always work. If you try to log in, it will sometimes take you back to the forum page, but you are still not logged in. Retrying sometimes works, but then all the new post markers are cleared, so you have no idea what threads have new posts.

Solution:

I have been testing this over the past 2-3 weeks, and it ALWAYS works (100% of the time) for me. Instead of logging in through the main page, click ANY forum (General, Tech Support, Gaming, ect). Then click on "New Topic" as if you wanted to create a new thread. This will require you to log in, so when the login screen appears, log in as normal. Then just click "forums" at the top of the page again, to return to the main forum page. This logs you in 100% of the time without any issues.

- So it appears that logging in from the main page is faulty, yet doing the work-around I mentions lets you log in fine. I don't know why that is, but thats the only way I have found to log in properly.

NOTE: It still logs me off every time I exit out of the website. So every time I come back, I have to log back in since it doesn't save. At least I don't have to keep trying to log in, then not be able to see new posts.


Last edited by hunter1801 on Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
I found another pseudo-solution which seems to be working. Since the site works with the Internet Explorer engine, it occurred to me - using IETabs! For those who don't know, there's an extension for Firefox called IETabs which allows you to open IE-only websites within Firefox; what it does is opens them in Firefox but renders the page using IE's engine (which leads to slightly higher load time for the first page because it has to switch IE on...) - and it has filters, so I have set it to automatically load *.motherboards.org/* in an IE tab, so I don't even have to think about doing it. Works 100% and is a great way past the problem, as the IE part seems to (mostly) remember my details.

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group