Graphiccard basics

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Graphiccard basics

Postby Wolfgang Krebl » Fri May 31, 2002 3:17 am

Today I´ve a very basic question about graphiccards.


Is there any way to determine how much video memory I need for a specific resolution (for example: Whats the higest possible resolution for a videocard with 1MB memory)?

Thanks for your help

Best wishes

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Krebl
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 1:03 am

Postby asassin' » Fri May 31, 2002 9:17 am

horizontal pixels X vertical pixels X color depth; i.e.
800 X 600 X 2 bytes = 960,000 or
1024 X 768 X 1
asassin'
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri May 31, 2002 9:43 am

I think you should be worried about quality at a certain resolution. Most people are 800X600 or 1024X768 these days. Anything higher then an 8MB card will do that just fine at a reasonable resolution.

When purchasing a card, just do a bit of research into it.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Wolfgang Krebl » Sat Jun 01, 2002 12:31 am

Thanks for your fast replies! :lol:

My problem is the following: I sell a Compaq Presario with an Diamond A200 AGP 8MB graphiccard, and I´d like to know which resolutions are possible with this graphiccard.

Is such a card capeable of delivering a fine picture at a resolution at 1280x1024?

If I got asassin´ right a 8MB card should be capeable of an resolution of 1600x1200x16bit. (1600x1200x4byte=7.680.000)

But is the quality of such an resolution acceptable?

Anyhow -thanks again for your help

Best wishes

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Krebl
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 1:03 am

Postby timmib » Sat Jun 01, 2002 1:36 am

Greetings,

Part of the quality question has to do with refresh rates supported. Might check the card's spec's.

Be well,

Tim
timmib
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Unioville, Connecticut, U.S.A.

Postby evasive » Sat Jun 01, 2002 2:11 am

Oh and make sure the monitor supports those resolutions/color-depths/refresh rates...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Jun 01, 2002 12:31 pm

Here are the specs for the video card:

S3 128-bit 2D, 3D and video engine – Savage4 Pro

AGP 2X (compatible with AGP 1X systems)

S3TC® texture compression for superior 3D image quality

Fast, full-color 2D performance with resolution support up to 1600x1200

8MB of fast SDRAM memory

Hardware-accelerated DVD for fast and smooth DVD (MPEG-2)

Cinema-quality display of MPEG-1 titles

Complete Direct3D® and OpenGL® ICD support

Microsoft WHQL certified for compatibility

Optimized drivers for full compatibility with Windows® 95/98, Windows NT® 4.0 and Windows 2000 (when available)
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby andrey » Sat Jun 01, 2002 1:57 pm

its all down to the monitor for you, as to how high it can go. the video card can support up to 1600x1200 as quoted above.
________
medical cannabis
Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andrey
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Jun 01, 2002 2:00 pm

When looking into an old monitor, get the model and look it up on the net. If you can find information, see what the specs are. If you can't find anything, then its most likely a POS and not worth it. :?
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Wolfgang Krebl » Sat Jun 01, 2002 10:27 pm

All Right - thanks again for all your help and devotion to my problem. The monitor is a Samsung Syncmaster 19", and he is capeable of all resolutions
the card can provide.

So I got the deal made perfect and my customer is satisfied about her new computer. :D

Again - thanks a lot for all your help

Best wishes

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Krebl
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 1:03 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests