The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: bios
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 7:58 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 8:21 pm
Posts: 81
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new here, I'm going to be building my first PC here in a few weeks. I'm going with the Asus A7V333 and I'm pretty confident that I will be able to put the computer together physically. I'm just worried about setting up the bios and everything. I heard that this motherboard has a very lenghty and detailed manual. When I read the how to build a PC article on here it made it sound like my bios would be configured for me automatically when I start my pc, if I have a nice mobo that is. My question is, will my bios be done automatically? Or will I have to manually alter it? And if so, will it be easy for me to do, being I barely even know what bios means?
Thanks so much :D
Flingz


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 8:11 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
Oh it will be easy as cake. People would only change the bios settings from default if they are having problems, and the percentage of people who have problems to those who don't is about 1%. You could alter some settings for disabling the sound, or changing the FSB, etc, but those aren't necessary to get you up and running. Possibly it may come with a lower FSB than your CPU and RAM runs efficiently at, so you may want to change that, that is it though I believe.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: forgot...
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 8:17 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 8:21 pm
Posts: 81
im putting in a xp2000+ or xp2100+ havent decided yet,
oh what the heck heres the rest
256mb ddram
antec plus1080 case 430w i believe
cdrw drive
cd drive
60 gig ata133 maxtor hd
ge force 3 ti card (not sure yet)
cheap floppy
cheap modem
rounded ide cables
win xp

so will i have to change the FSB if i buy either of those cpus?
thanks and I can't wait to get started!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 8:22 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
Nope, what I meant was, I don't know if the board comes stock with the FSB of 100mhz or 133mhz, probably 133mhz nowadays. This determines your CPU frequency, as your multiplier is say 12.0, you multiply 12 * 133mhz to get your CPU mhz. You may want to change the AGP Aperture size in the BIOS too, to 128mb, but that is not necessary, only recommended.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 9:13 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
you'll do fine, you rarely have to adjust any settings on a modern mobo to get it up and running, but if you want to experiment/tweak it, then yes you'll have to dive into the BIOS. otherwise, you should just be able to put everything together, turn it on, and it should boot up. if it doesn't, well thats what were here for :)

and btw BIOS is "basic input output system" in case you were wondering :)
________
Ford Quadricycle picture


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 11:58 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 1432
Location: L.A.
That board has allot of jumpers but it has a mode that allows you to make your adjustments in the bios, so if you don't want to do much make sure your board is set to the jumper less mode or else you have to configure your voltage and fsb manually. The speech post option is nice, because it tells you exactly what is wrong without having to decipher annoying beeps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group