The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:08 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:07 am
Posts: 9896
Location: gold country
they should power the fans, but no rpm monitoring. you might be able to add a wire from some extra ones.

_________________
Image

depression is just anger without the enthusiasm
anger is just danger without the "d"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:17 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Like cacrusn said, you won't be able to monitor the RPMs of the fans. It can be done, and if you want to I'll let you know what you'll need (assuming the fans have the red wire).

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:27 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 12:55 am
Posts: 7251
Location: Fulton, New York, on Earth
The extra un-used wire coming from the fan will be the "Tach Line" or Signal line. You can run that to any of the 3 pin connectors on the motherboard-using ONLY! the signal/tach input pin.

Problems: Many motherboards do not have fan speed monitoring on all of the headers. Normally you'll get an RPM reading on the CPUHSF, NB1 (northbridge), and usually one...maybe two (manual will state this info) of the CHAFAN headers. The manual will state which connector has that ability.

2nd problem. One fan per signal input. As in...you can't link 2+ of the signal wires together and run them to an input. The reading the motherboard will get? Gibberish....

S-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:43 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Gem wrote:
I found this connector but it's still wrong, the 3 pin on the left needs to be another female, not a male.... dumb wires.... :x

I think I am starting to go off the deep end, Now I want to take my case, rip all the wires out and start all over. I think I may be stalking my computer.. 8O


Why is it wrong? The fan plugs into the socket on the left, the big one connects to the PSU, and the one on the right plugs on to a header on the mobo to provide RPM monitoring.

It's fine.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:22 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Gem wrote:
not for my controller, they are all 3 pins, the 12 cm fans are all 4 pins.


Ah, if the fans are 4-pin, unless they already are set up for it, you won't be able to do the RPM bit.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group