How do i.....

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby The Pizza Boy » Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:39 pm

OK WTF im frustrated. For some reason under my CMOS settings the slave that i want is be seen as a secondary slave as opposed to a primary slave. I have it set up as follows.....MAIN HD(We will call Sam) in IDE 1. CD in IDE 2. Secondary HD(Which we will call Max) in IDE 3. Now....why cant Max be reconised(sp?) Im so lost....i still cant format the HD and im about ready to pay some computer tech guy 40 bucks to wipe it clean. Im guessing that i cant access it cuz both XP OS's are fighting for my attention. Im at a loss. Please allow me to use max and save me forty dollars....or max will be in pieces by tomarrow....many many pieces....like 100...
Image
Image
The Pizza Boy
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby The Pizza Boy » Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:44 pm

Image
Image
The Pizza Boy
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby The Pizza Boy » Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:29 pm

So are you saying hook up Sam and Max along the same IDE ribbon? How do i do that if all i have are female ports? Im guessing i gotta go get an adapter eh? So....its going to look like this right?.....

http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=10/27822294511.jpg&s=x10

forgive me for the crude pic but its the best i can come up with.
Image
Image
The Pizza Boy
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby Toby B. » Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:33 pm

Those images of hdd jumpers from Gem should be in a "stickies" for references!
Willing to create a "sticky" for it, BUT I am rather busy right now to set one up....

The Maxtor image is only 1 of a few different versions availible.... I know this only because I currently have a Maxtor drive and have helped a friend with a few different Maxtor drives. There is no 1 set standard fro these drives....
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby krung krung » Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:40 pm

and also when im formatting an ide drive or a 2.5 laptop harddrive im using my "ide usb enclosure" if you know someone who has one maybe you can borrow it from him and see if it will be recognise by your computer...
there are many experts here that can help you. :)
so dont throw that money of yours. im sure youll be over it :wink:
LIVE STRONG!
krung krung
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:30 am

Postby The Pizza Boy » Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:48 pm

Well heres the status....i downloaded the raid driver from some driver depot or whatever. I ran XP and it gave me the option to run SCSI or RAID driver but it when it started to run it gave me an error....i thought i had it but now i dont know....
Image
Image
The Pizza Boy
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby The Pizza Boy » Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:01 pm

Ok heres that error message.....

FILE \WinXP\Fasttrack.sys caused an unexpected error (18) at
line 2108 in d:\xpsp1\base\setup\oemdisk.c.
Press any key to continue.

Ok what the hell does this mean? Is it talkin about the Win XP on Max screwing with that install?

Smiley error fixed - Toby B.
Image
Image
The Pizza Boy
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest