Other than $150, what's diff between 512mb and 1028mb ram?

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Other than $150, what's diff between 512mb and 1028mb ram?

Postby Flyin » Mon May 27, 2002 2:31 am

I won't be doing video editing, I just don't feel technologies up to snuff when converting vhs to vcd/dvd. What kind of performance difference is there between this system with 1 stick of 512mb of Samsung PC 2700 ddr ram and 2 sticks?
(I'm gonna list every component incase each makes a difference)

Asus VIA A7V KT333 mobo
AMD Athlon XP 1900
ATI Radeon 8500 128mb DDR(retail)
Maxtor 80GB 7200rpm Quiet Drive
Lite On 40x12x48 CD-RW
Hercules Gaming Theater XP 6.1
Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 THX Audio System

Thanks for reading!
Flyin
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Kansas

Postby Tolemac » Mon May 27, 2002 2:39 am

The difference is that you will have more than enough RAM no matter what you're doing. 512Mb is fine for almost anything except heavy graphics apps that use a lot of memory. Then you need to go with 1 or 2Gig of memory.
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby Flyin » Mon May 27, 2002 3:38 am

Looks like I have an extra $150 to play with then! I'd surely know by now if I was planning on using any heavy graphics apps. I mean, photosuite and what have you won't need a gig of ram will it?
Flyin
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Kansas

Postby Tolemac » Tue May 28, 2002 1:51 am

Not necessarily. What I mean is more along the lines of Cad/Cam work and serious video/photo editing software. 512Mb of RAM should be fine for Photoshop and Paintshop and the like. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests