The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 11:35 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 717
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada
DUDE!!!!

HOLD ON!

Did the settings I told you to change stick? Did you then change the multiplier to 13x?

Does it say 1300MHz now?

Don't leave me hangin' here, I need CLOSURE!!!

_________________
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 11:39 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm
Posts: 14
Ok this is what happened. You suggested I take out the pc100 and only keep the pc133, so I did. I then went to the bios screen and this is what it said:

CPU speed: manual
CPU freq multiple: 5.0x
CPU/PCI freq: 100/33
CPU/mem freq ratio: 3:4

then I rebooted (saved changes) and then went back in, and made the following changes

CPU speed: manual
CPU freq multiple: 13.0x
CPU/PCI freq: 100/33
CPU/mem freq ratio: 3:4

then I rebooted again (saved changes) and this is what I saw on screen

CPU speed: manual
CPU freq multiple: 13.0x
CPU/PCI freq: 100/33
CPU/mem freq ratio: 3:4

so I went to cpu speed, pressed enter, a little window popped up with 3 options, manual/500MHz/667MHz

then I rebooted again, and set windows to install again while I wrote that post

Vogue

_________________
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 11:48 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm
Posts: 14
Hey check it out the install went through...It got through the first copy session, then rebooted, got through the second copy session, rebooted, now its at a beautiful light blue screen with some writing on it...I'm gonna go see what it says, but this is as far as I've gotten today with the xp install...

Vogue

_________________
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 12:25 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 717
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada
Vogue Dude,

When you turn on the computer it usually tells you what kind of cpu and how fast it is. Does yours say now: Duron at 1300MHz?
It should, because that's what it's set at.

By the lloks of it, it runs stable. It should also be fast.

IS IT??? :?: :?: :?: :?:

_________________
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 12:37 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm
Posts: 14
Yeah yeah it says that. Also, it says that when you go to control panel --> system...which means I INSTALLED XP!!!!! OH GOD I'M HAPPY! I mean yeah its gonna be a while to configure that friggin network again before I have internet, however I'm willing to pay the price, at least its working. Thanks a lot eh, I appreciate it!

Vogue

_________________
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 12:51 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 717
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada
U DA MAN!!!


8) 8) 8)

_________________
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 1:51 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm
Posts: 14
IT WORKS! IT WORKS!! AAAHAHAHAHAH IT WORKS!!! WHO DA MAN!? WHO...DA...MAAAAANNNNN!?!!!! YEEESSSSS!!! CAN'T TOUCH THIS TAAAAA-NA-NA-NANA NA-NANA NA-NANA!!!

Thanks to all of you, especially somedude for having the patience to sit a pure n00b through it, thanks bud!

Vogue

_________________
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 2:43 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 717
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada
No problem Dude. Glad I could help.

_________________
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group