Installing a new motherboard...

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby somedude » Fri May 31, 2002 11:35 am

DUDE!!!!

HOLD ON!

Did the settings I told you to change stick? Did you then change the multiplier to 13x?

Does it say 1300MHz now?

Don't leave me hangin' here, I need CLOSURE!!!
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)
somedude
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada

Postby VogueBoy » Fri May 31, 2002 11:39 am

Ok this is what happened. You suggested I take out the pc100 and only keep the pc133, so I did. I then went to the bios screen and this is what it said:

CPU speed: manual
CPU freq multiple: 5.0x
CPU/PCI freq: 100/33
CPU/mem freq ratio: 3:4

then I rebooted (saved changes) and then went back in, and made the following changes

CPU speed: manual
CPU freq multiple: 13.0x
CPU/PCI freq: 100/33
CPU/mem freq ratio: 3:4

then I rebooted again (saved changes) and this is what I saw on screen

CPU speed: manual
CPU freq multiple: 13.0x
CPU/PCI freq: 100/33
CPU/mem freq ratio: 3:4

so I went to cpu speed, pressed enter, a little window popped up with 3 options, manual/500MHz/667MHz

then I rebooted again, and set windows to install again while I wrote that post

Vogue
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!
VogueBoy
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm

Postby VogueBoy » Fri May 31, 2002 11:48 am

Hey check it out the install went through...It got through the first copy session, then rebooted, got through the second copy session, rebooted, now its at a beautiful light blue screen with some writing on it...I'm gonna go see what it says, but this is as far as I've gotten today with the xp install...

Vogue
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!
VogueBoy
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm

Postby somedude » Fri May 31, 2002 12:25 pm

Vogue Dude,

When you turn on the computer it usually tells you what kind of cpu and how fast it is. Does yours say now: Duron at 1300MHz?
It should, because that's what it's set at.

By the lloks of it, it runs stable. It should also be fast.

IS IT??? :?: :?: :?: :?:
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)
somedude
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada

Postby VogueBoy » Fri May 31, 2002 12:37 pm

Yeah yeah it says that. Also, it says that when you go to control panel --> system...which means I INSTALLED XP!!!!! OH GOD I'M HAPPY! I mean yeah its gonna be a while to configure that friggin network again before I have internet, however I'm willing to pay the price, at least its working. Thanks a lot eh, I appreciate it!

Vogue
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!
VogueBoy
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm

Postby somedude » Fri May 31, 2002 12:51 pm

U DA MAN!!!


8) 8) 8)
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)
somedude
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada

Postby VogueBoy » Fri May 31, 2002 1:51 pm

IT WORKS! IT WORKS!! AAAHAHAHAHAH IT WORKS!!! WHO DA MAN!? WHO...DA...MAAAAANNNNN!?!!!! YEEESSSSS!!! CAN'T TOUCH THIS TAAAAA-NA-NA-NANA NA-NANA NA-NANA!!!

Thanks to all of you, especially somedude for having the patience to sit a pure n00b through it, thanks bud!

Vogue
I bet I can run faster scared, than you can mad!
VogueBoy
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:59 pm

Postby somedude » Fri May 31, 2002 2:43 pm

No problem Dude. Glad I could help.
"I can't buy that. Only management guys with big salaries like me can afford that...
Guys like me! I'm a guy like me!"
Homer Simpson :)
somedude
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Toronto, Not the Capital of, Canada

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests