The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 9:43 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 9:39 am
Posts: 3
Hello all.

I've listen that I can flash the Transcend AKT4/B motherboard BIOS to become an AKT4/A. I don't know if this is true. If anyone know how, I'll be thankfull.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 10:05 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
Welcome to the Mother Board!

Where exactly did you hear this? I'll look around and see if it's possible, but my first thought is that you cannot change the actual designation of the board with a BIOS change. 8)

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 11:21 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
I just checked at Transcend. You have a KT133 board (AKT4/B) , and the AKT4/A is a KT133A board. Different chipset. You are not able to change the chipset with a BIOS flash. :(

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: My provider
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 11:44 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 9:39 am
Posts: 3
I'm seeking for a 1200 MHz Ahtlon, is the maximun for the AKT4/B, and my povider was said to me that I could buy an XP if I flash the BIOS to become an AKT4/A motherboard. Then, I suppose, this is a lie.
Well, I'll search for a new provider and for an Ahtlon 1200 Mhz.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 11:58 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
What's your location shuko? If you're here in th US, then Newegg.com is the top reseller for quality computer parts. 8)

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: I'm sorry
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 12:39 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 9:39 am
Posts: 3
:-) but thanks. I'm from Spain. I work with TechData and IngranMicro also. I suppose that you know them.

Thanks for all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 3:45 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Quote:
my povider was said to me that I could buy an XP if I flash the BIOS to become an AKT4/A motherboard


My guess here is that by flashing the AKT4/B with the AKT4/A bios you would gain the necessary bios support for the Athlon XP processor however, although the KT133 and KT133A chipsets are very similar using a bios designed for one on the other may induce undesireable problems. It may of course work perfectly well but there is certainly a risk involved.

Even if the flash did work perfectly you are not going to be able to operate the Athlon XP at 133MHz FSB which it is designed to do as the KT133 chipset is designed to operate only at 100MHz FSB. You would therefore need to unlock the multiplier of the CPU in order to take advantage of its full speed capabilities, assuming that the AKT4/B supports multiplier adjustments.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group