How to make Mozilla Firefox even faster!

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
sloopdog 1
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2403
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: North Carolina

Post by sloopdog 1 »

Firetune is incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Contact:

Post by kltsin »

sloopdog 1 wrote:Firetune is incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lol, I guess you like it.
I liked fasterfox just as much except for its higher settings that can bog down a server with to many requests.
jimflint1
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:02 pm

Post by jimflint1 »

How do I adjust the fasterfox settings? I got a message after I downloaded it that said fasterfox will be installed the next time you start firefox, so I shut down firefox and restarted it, but got no settings boxes or anything for fasterfox. Any thoughts?
jimflint1
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:02 pm

Post by jimflint1 »

Forget that last post. I found the little icon. :oops:
zodoman
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:56 pm

Post by zodoman »

sloopdog 1 wrote:Firetune is incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
\


Thas what I'm saying, nice post.
User avatar
joe_devore
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:56 pm
Location: Dover, NH USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

So.... Will these Optimization be fully applicable to
those poor unfortunates using Dial-Up(EVIL_ PDT_Armataz_01_02 ) -->me.

I mean will they cause any problems like bogging down this older system I am using...


and about this FireTune program.... Is it safe no Spyware virus etc...?


Specs:
Gateway Performance866
CPU: Pentium 3 866Mhz 256KB L2
RAM: 128MB SDRAM Total (1x 64MB PC133 CL3, 2x 32MB PC???
system assumes PC100 on the 2 older modules, no SPD Chips)
GFX: 4MB Nvidia Riva 128 AGP 4x (old Crap)
HDD: OLDer Maxtor 7.5GB 5400RPM 512KB Model:90845D4

Samsung SW-252B Burner


NorthBridge: Intel 815
SouthBridge: ICH2 (Only USB1.1, sucks)
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Its still better than the older one I had...
Intel 437VX and worse for all the other components for that
now dead system PDT_Armataz_01_01


Any thoughts....


oh, yeah I have Win2K setup on a temp drive
(A system I am working on for someone)


As soon as I can get a *new* HDD for myself I will move over and its
Good bye Win98
User avatar
cmpapac
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:56 pm

Post by cmpapac »

That is great!!!!! My Mozilla is much faster now!!!!!
User avatar
Natsuin
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 10:19 am
Location: Cal City, CA
Contact:

WEll done

Post by Natsuin »

It works quite well.

Many thanks.
jimflint1
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:02 pm

Post by jimflint1 »

Does anyone know if FasterFox is compatible with FireTune? Or do they mutually annihilate each other's settings?
hichael
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:39 pm

Re: How to make Mozilla Firefox even faster!

Post by hichael »

YouGiveMeRash!!! wrote:1. Type "about:config" in the address field.
2. Set the value of network.http.pipelining to "true".
3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "100".
4. Set the value of network.http.proxy.pipelining to "true"
5. Set the value of nglayout.initialpaint.delay to "0" if it is present

Watch the pages fly now.

(to change the value, right-click and go to "modifiy')



Where? in the address field?
If i type "about:config" in the address bar it goes "about" web page.
Post Reply