How to make Mozilla Firefox even faster!

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Contact:

Post by Sabrewings »

jimflint1 wrote:Here's a question--anytime Mozilla prompts you to download the latest and greatest version, and you go ahead and download it, do you need to reset all the values again?
I've never had to.
[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/random%20stuff/mobosig52.jpg[/img][img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/fft.gif[/img]
[url=http://recordingindustryvspeople.blogspot.com/][b]RIAA vs The People[/b][/url]
jimflint1
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:02 pm

Post by jimflint1 »

Why I ask is because I had to once. I just downloaded 1.0.6 and I haven't yet checked to see if the values are set the best way possible still. Just wondering if any one else has had that same experience.
sloopdog 1
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2403
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: North Carolina

Post by sloopdog 1 »

I checked after installing v1.07 and there were two values that had returned to default settings.
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.
User avatar
DAVE1
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 7699
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:49 am
Contact:

Post by DAVE1 »

does this still work for 1.05.01 ?
Join team 33258 today!!
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Contact:

Post by kltsin »

It looks like most are the default settings with 1.5.X except max requests which is set at 8.

100 is to high.

no higher than lets say 20 should be used, any higher than that and it will bog down servers.
I think 15 would be ideal
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests 15
AMD
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:25 am

Post by AMD »

great tips here :oops:
AMD
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:25 am

Post by AMD »

DAVE185 wrote:does this still work for 1.05.01 ?
yep
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Contact:

Post by kltsin »

There is a program that does this automatically and some other tweaks not mentioned.

Its called Firetune
http://www.totalidea.com/freestuff4.htm

I'm using it over doing it manually and I must say that Firefox is faster than I have ever seen.

and I mean its flying.
User avatar
DAVE1
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 7699
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:49 am
Contact:

Post by DAVE1 »

kltsin wrote:There is a program that does this automatically and some other tweaks not mentioned.

Its called Firetune
http://www.totalidea.com/freestuff4.htm

I'm using it over doing it manually and I must say that Firefox is faster than I have ever seen.

and I mean its flying.
the ads to download it are a killer
Join team 33258 today!!
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Contact:

Post by kltsin »

There is the extension fasterfox as well.

It has some issues as its default setting will overload a server.
Just use the Courteous or Optimized settings please.
Post Reply