The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:32 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 2:01 pm
Posts: 116
Location: NC, USA
Wow....it's a lot faster....and I'm on cable.....

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 3:40 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:32 am
Posts: 3
hey its kltsin here, just wanted all of you know that you need to uninstall firefox and update to FF1.01 to be much safer using FF as soon as possible!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:33 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Trapped inside a virtual machine.
Regarding the piplining 100 or 30 debate, as well as the turbo setting to make it preload to be as fast as IE; I use the 8 on pipelining as I read that more than 8 generally doesn't help, and 8 is what Mozilla themselves recommend:

http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/ ... pipelining

That turbo thing used to be a setting, but is apparently now just a leftover that's not been removed. I would also think that if the turbo did anything it would be on their own tips and tricks page at Mozilla, but it doesn't seem to be. Maybe somebody should search the firefox source for any mention of it.

_________________
Home server: Asus P5Q Pro, Core2Quad, 8GB DDR2, ENGTX260 876MB, Zalman 800w, Antec P180 case, 2x1TB and 2x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1, Windows 7 64-bit, etc

Work server: HP ProLiant ML350 G6, hexacore Xeon E5645 2.4GHz (12 logical cores), 16GB DDR3, 3x300GB SAS RAID5, Server 2008 R2, nVidia GT560Ti 1GB for Hyper-V RemoteFX acceleration


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:22 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 7:42 pm
Posts: 3844
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
I saw this page here with some more firefox tweaks. If all of them have been covered in the past 6 pages of this post, sorry :P

_________________
"You cant hug your family with Nuclear Arms"

Asus F2A85-V Pro
AMD A10-5800K APU @ 4.5GHz
8GB G. Skill 1866
550w PSU
Hyper 212 Evo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 1:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Posts: 2792
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
filecore wrote:
Regarding the piplining 100 or 30 debate, as well as the turbo setting to make it preload to be as fast as IE; I use the 8 on pipelining as I read that more than 8 generally doesn't help, and 8 is what Mozilla themselves recommend:

http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/ ... pipelining

That turbo thing used to be a setting, but is apparently now just a leftover that's not been removed. I would also think that if the turbo did anything it would be on their own tips and tricks page at Mozilla, but it doesn't seem to be. Maybe somebody should search the firefox source for any mention of it.


Good call, I hadnt seen that it was removed from the code.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:15 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Posts: 2792
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Hope everyone knows FF 1.0.2 has been available since march 24 2005.
Fixes the Gif buffer overflow exploit.

IE VS FF
Severity Scale : Not Severe, Low, moderate, high, very severe threat.

As of today;

FF has 5 possible exploits.
Threat Level - # of Vulnerabilites
Severe - 0
High - 0
Moderate - 1
Low - 3
Not - 1

IE has 29 possible exploits.
IE Unpatched. 19 exploits
Threat Level - # of Vulnerabilites
Severe - 0
High - 2
Moderate - 4
Low - 5
Not - 8

IE Partially Patched 10 exploits
Threat Level - # of Vulnerabilites
Severe - 1
High - 0
Moderate - 4
Low - 0
Not - 5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 6:47 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 7:57 pm
Posts: 38
If I had wanted to make the first changes suggested, how would I do it. I can see the list of parameters but no way to make any changes as edit doesn't work. Please enlighten. I did download FF 1.02 but still find it slower than my Opera. I haven't gone through the list on 1.02 but the pipelining is set to false. If I could change this would FF1.02 run faster?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:16 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Posts: 2792
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
jjr wrote:
If I had wanted to make the first changes suggested, how would I do it. I can see the list of parameters but no way to make any changes as edit doesn't work. Please enlighten. I did download FF 1.02 but still find it slower than my Opera. I haven't gone through the list on 1.02 but the pipelining is set to false. If I could change this would FF1.02 run faster?


Yes faster, for some much faster depending on pc and connection.

after typing in about:config
use the filter at the top of the page to help find the following
for instance in the filter type in pipe and you will see.
network.http.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests
network.http.proxy.pipelining
Right click to edit, from false to true use the right click "TOGGLE"
For numbers use the "modify" option, but dont set maxrequests to high, a good number is 8 as two many bog down a server(you may load faster but others cant because you are requesting to many times, the server may not respond also if you request too much)

Set the value of nglayout.initialpaint.delay to "0" if it is present
if not you can create it.
(Note overall this may slow down how fast a page loads, I mainly use forums so text appears right away and faster for me, after the text loads the browser then starts at the beginning and fills in the images and other objects)
Right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer.
Name it nglayout.initialpaint.delay and set its value to 0. (This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 2:05 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 13
Holy Crap! batman this is awesome!
I will say it only once i am not worthy...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:40 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:02 pm
Posts: 337
Here's a question--anytime Mozilla prompts you to download the latest and greatest version, and you go ahead and download it, do you need to reset all the values again?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot], Istellabot [Crawler] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group