How to make Mozilla Firefox even faster!

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
Justin
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 2:11 pm
Location: Vermont

How does it work??

Post by Justin »

i know it works, but im not quite shure what it does, does anybody know?? ive got guesses, but it does work
SnyperX
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
Posts: 1264
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:32 pm
Contact:

Post by SnyperX »

I'm not seeing a difference, maybe I'm just clueless and it is there I just can't see it, so who knows lol, it's already fast and my comp is fast and my internet is fast, so I guess if it doesnt make it faster I can live lol
P4 3.2 Prescott LGA-775
X600Pro PCI-E (not the best but cheap and decent)
Gigabyte GA-8I915P Duo-A
Geil UltraX 2-2-2-5 1gig Dual Channel
PSU
http://www.xpcgear.com/jaguar450psu.html
28a on the +12v
Ghen
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 3:06 pm
Location: Delaware
Contact:

Post by Ghen »

I'm not seeing any difference either. I doubt though that my browser is the bottleneck in my system with 2 computers downloading video constantly and this one being so slow to start with. Oh well :) Its still faster than IE at loading code, its just very transparent with picture loading which makes it look old school (IE 4.0)
[url=http://www.getfirefox.com][img]http://mywebpages.comcast.net/ghen/avatars/b.png[/img][img]http://home.comcast.net/~ghen/avatars/firefoxeating.png[/img][img]http://home.comcast.net/~ghen/avatars/firefoxboob.jpg[/img][/url]
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2
Contact:

Post by YouGiveMeRash!!! »

With those of you that have a super fast PC and broadband, i dont think you will be able to tell much difference.

Works awesome on dial-up though!
[b]Main rig:[/b] 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D [email protected] -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
[b]Laptop:[/b] Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 [email protected] -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
John-K
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 5:42 am

Post by John-K »

I have broadband, and it does seem a bit faster. Thanks for the tip!

Cheers,
Davek804
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3696
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 7:38 pm
Location: Rural Massachusetts
Contact:

Post by Davek804 »

niice, this did add a nice speed boost.
"We must embrace pain and burn it as fuel for our journey."
knotman
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 859
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 9:18 pm
Location: look in you closet
Contact:

Post by knotman »

i did it on my puter too i got dsl and it is faster thanx
K8n-NEO2 platium,AwardBIOS v6.00PG,AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 4000+ Socket 939,ati radeon 9800 xt 256 agp ,windows XP w/service pack 2,2 G`s ram ddr 3200,running dual monitors
PolarMan
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 10:34 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by PolarMan »

Excellent stuff, my browser seems to be noticeably faster a loading pages over my DSL. :D
[url=http://www.area3d.net]Area3D[/url] Staff Member

Pentium 75 // 24 MB RAM // Some unknown SVGA graphics card with 1 MB RAM // 800 MB HDD // Diamond SupraExpress 33.6Kbps modem // Windows NT Workstation 3.51 SP5

Eat my dust.
olly
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:11 pm

Post by olly »

Thanks great stuff 8)
gonetribal
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:21 pm

Post by gonetribal »

My P3 benefitted quite a bit but my P4 laptop didn't make much difference :)

gonetribal.
Post Reply