Which is a better router/gateway? Linksys or Dlink

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Which is a better router/gateway? Linksys or Dlink

Postby slow computer guy » Tue May 21, 2002 1:16 am

Ok which is better i would like to her some opinoins
between the Linksys Cable router/4 port switch and the D-link Cable router Di-704
slow computer guy
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Postby Reader » Tue May 21, 2002 2:59 am

The Linksys router is dead easy to install and get up and running. I have no experience with the D-Link because the guys that run the network at my office steered me to the Linksys for a reasonable router solution. One said that if he had it to do over again, he would have gone Linksys rather than D-Link.

I have experienced problems with the Linksys being logged off or the DSL line dropping. Created a web link to the router's "WAN Status" that enables me to reconnect in about 5 seconds. It only happens about once a week...and not a problem to be blamed on the router, I think.

But, again, I'm not knocking D-Link, I just haven't used their products.
reader
_ _ _____ _ _
"There we were, lost in the Wilds of Afghanistan without a corkscrew. Forced to live for days on nothing but food and water."

W.C. Fields
Reader
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Postby Aibohphobia » Tue May 21, 2002 6:12 pm

I too have a Linksys Router. For me it has never had any problems on my DSL line. Though it's no comparison, I have a D-Link camera, D-Link network card, and a D-Link switch too--The switch is nice, and never had any problems at all, however the network card is a pain in the butt to configure because of a driver problem with it. They are both good and reputable companies! D-Link however is the #1 seller of networking products so I'd side with them, unless you care about price and want a Linksys instead.
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia