The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 9:45 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 1:16 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 5:51 pm
Posts: 11
Location: hAWAII
Ok which is better i would like to her some opinoins
between the Linksys Cable router/4 port switch and the D-link Cable router Di-704


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 2:59 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 454
Location: Atlanta, GA
The Linksys router is dead easy to install and get up and running. I have no experience with the D-Link because the guys that run the network at my office steered me to the Linksys for a reasonable router solution. One said that if he had it to do over again, he would have gone Linksys rather than D-Link.

I have experienced problems with the Linksys being logged off or the DSL line dropping. Created a web link to the router's "WAN Status" that enables me to reconnect in about 5 seconds. It only happens about once a week...and not a problem to be blamed on the router, I think.

But, again, I'm not knocking D-Link, I just haven't used their products.

_________________
reader
_ _ _____ _ _
"There we were, lost in the Wilds of Afghanistan without a corkscrew. Forced to live for days on nothing but food and water."

W.C. Fields


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 6:12 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
I too have a Linksys Router. For me it has never had any problems on my DSL line. Though it's no comparison, I have a D-Link camera, D-Link network card, and a D-Link switch too--The switch is nice, and never had any problems at all, however the network card is a pain in the butt to configure because of a driver problem with it. They are both good and reputable companies! D-Link however is the #1 seller of networking products so I'd side with them, unless you care about price and want a Linksys instead.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 6:46 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 80
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
I would go for the Linksys 4 port DSL/Cable router. Its solid and stable. I'm using it right this minute. Its also easy to set up. The only thing I can think of thats not a pro is that its hard to get files through the firewall. (ie msn messenger, and Yahoo messenger). Otherwise its worth it. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 7:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
Oh one other thing to add, is if you are buying a Linksys router/switch/firewall, I think that they are more effective firewalls since they can work well with ZoneAlarmPro, a software firewall supported by Linksys' router

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 5:16 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1903
Location: McKinney, Tx
My linksys 4 port works just fine. I had some initial problems with it dropping connection with PPPOE, but that could also have been my ISP's fault.

Anyways, switching my two computers over to ports 2 and 4 seemed to get rid of that issue. Owned the router for over 8 months, and the last 5 months or so have been flawless.

_________________
0100101001001101
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 6:55 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 28
Location: St Louis
I work for Best Buy and we all recommend the Linksys to everyone. All of the networking gurus say its better


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 7:10 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 45
I did have some problems with the Linksys cable router/switcher. These may have been related more to my computer or DSL provider, I am still not sure. I switched to the wireless Linksys system and for some unknown reason I have had zero problems. I even prefer it now over the cable. My opinion-------Linksys over DLink!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: D-Link vs Linksys
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2002 6:49 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 6:36 am
Posts: 120
Location: Champlain Valley New England
I use and have set up Linksys at my work and D-link at my home.The set up procedures were virtually identical.Both had a few bumps but carefull reading of the manuals resolved the issues at setup.Both appear to work flawlessly.The only reason I chose the D-link for my home is the fact it has a LPT1 port printer server built in.Now my family can use the printer reguardless of wether my computer is on or not.I find this necessary as I often shut my computer down.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Qwantify [Crawler] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group