The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ad-Aware disapperaing
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:20 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 2:06 pm
Posts: 921
Location: Illinois
Today I ran Spybot and Ad-Aware, ran Spybot first. It didn't find anything on my computer, so I ran Ad-Aware to see if anything was missed. I updated the program first, which is what I usually do, then ran a scan. After it got done scanning the registry and was moving onto the files on my hard drive, the window disappeared. It was still showing up on the taskbar, so I clicked the taskbar and I see the title bar minimize and maximize, but still no window. I ran HijackThis and nothing looked out of the ordinary. The only things I've installed since my last run of Ad-Aware were America's Army and UT2K4. I don't use Internet Explorer, unless I am running Windows Update. I use Mozilla Firefox exclusively. I also have a firewall/anti-virus up and running at all times. I'm running XP Pro.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:17 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
have you tried reinstalling it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:47 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
i take it that aaw just crashed and dissapeared.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:11 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 2:06 pm
Posts: 921
Location: Illinois
I uninstalled and reinstalled, making sure the program folder was gone as well, still does it. It also does it everytime I run it, I didn't run it just once and then say "Ohnos! I have a virus and I've been hacked and I don't know what to do!" :roll: I've also waited for about an hour, thinking it might be running and it's just being weird. I can right click on the taskbar entry and tell it to close and it will go away just fine. I really have no clue what's goin' on with it right now, other than the window poofing on me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:33 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
how long do you let it run after it does this? what about in safe mode?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:36 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 2:06 pm
Posts: 921
Location: Illinois
Falklian wrote:
I've also waited for about an hour, thinking it might be running and it's just being weird.


That answer your question? :P

Tried running it in safe mode, same thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:17 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:28 pm
Posts: 2575
i may get some heat from the other members for this but i think you should maybe try posting at the ad-aware forum. if anything it could only benefit future versions if they identify your problem, and who knows, maybe somebody else ran into the same thing and posted over there


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group