The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 6:07 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
bah, I know this is the MOTHERBOARD homeworld, but surely you can find out info on ethernet cards as well :lol:

ISA card, has one ethernet outlet, and a 9-pin outlet, apparently for video card? or what is it for? it is a Thomas Conrad Corp card, copyright 1991.

there are a couple of rocker switches, plus two chipsets, heres the stuff on em:

thomas contrad 3074045100, ATI4045 (small letters, F31 198 japan)

the other one: LAN, TMS380C16PQL, EA9326, 3136476.

what can you tell me about this card? is a videocard/LAN combo?
________
buy no2 vaporizer


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: ISA NIC
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 6:20 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
I know what your talking about.

Image

Its not a VGA connector. Its another type of cable hook up that was used back in the day. Now its completely obselete.

Can you see if there is an FCC ID# on the back? Is there any information written directly on the PCB?

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Last edited by Hardware Junkie on Sun May 12, 2002 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Your card
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 6:23 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
This may be your card:
Image

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 6:38 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
it looks very much like the one at the bottom, except that the blue rocker switches are futher apart (the left one is right, but the right rocker is to the right of the LAN chipset (the one that is to the up and right of the other chipset) also the row of memory modules (?) on the left side isn't present on my card. other than that looks just like it.

On the back, heres what I can find: a sticker saying its compatible with part 15 of FCC rules :), another sticker with barcode lettering on it, TC4035 above the barcode and 93322243 C below the barcode. also, printed directly onto the PCB is the lettering EEC-M and the numbers 4192. on the front side in the middle of the card in white lettering is 500-4035-004 REV A.

man, plenty of jumpers on it...might use the 3COM ISA card I have lying around as well..I got both as a present..lol that one has no jumpers, is alot simpler, and got the pertaining info readily written on it :)
________
NU50


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Retired...
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 6:42 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
I would retire this one unless Windows can install some basic driver for it. The hardware is just too old to find information on the internet about it.

Sorry dude. Why don't you come back with something easier to ID, like an older 8086 box?
:D

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 6:50 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
LOL, hehe

thats why im going to install the 3com card (for which 3com.com has a pdf manual, etc etc for it :) and give this one for someone. I was just curious if anyone knew anything about it, since I was surprised to see the masurading VGA connection on it :)

now if only I can put up with a 133mhz pentium with 32megs of ram that im installing the 3com card on...hard to go to something slower if you are living on a computer with 1800+ processor and 512 megs of RAM :)

oh well, thanks for the help anyway. what WAS that VGA connection used for anyway? (yes yes I know its not VGA, but easier to say :) )
________
homemade vaporizers


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Never used it..
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 7:08 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
I never personally was exposed to it, but it was another method of networking. A praticular kind of cable or a plastic box hooked up to this and allowed you to network in a particular mannar. Might have had something to do with Token Ring networks.

I have a really old networking book I picked up for a buck somewhere. I'll look through that for information.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 10:22 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1347
If the mystery connector in question has 15 pins, not 9, then it is an AUI connector for the old thicknet ethernet cable. I have not personally used it either, but I have several cards with the same connector. I finally found out what they were in a network theory class.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 3:33 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Manufacturer: Thomas-Conrad
Part/Model Number: TC4035
Description: 4 Mb 8/16 Bit ISA NIC

Thomas-Conrad TC4035 Switch Settings:-

http://www.voxtechnologies.com/tc4035_switch_settings.htm


Thomas-Conrad TC4035 Switch Settings:-

http://www.compaq.com/support/techpubs/customer_advisories/4035.html


THOMAS-CONRAD TOKEN RING SUPPORT:-

http://www.compaq.com/support/networking/out_of_production/ThomasConradTokenRing.html


Microsoft-supported Windows 95 Ethernet Adaptors:-

http://www.upenn.edu/computing/help/doc/os/win95/win95nic.html


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 1:37 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
If you have an AUI (15-pin) and 10Base-2 BNC (coax) card, you can put a transceiver to UTP on the AUI connector. I have several of those and they work pretty neat. That way you can connect it to your hub.

AUI to BNC and AUI to optical fiber transceivers do exist as well.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group