How to change sector (or cluster) size from 4096 to 512

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
User avatar
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 725
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

How to change sector (or cluster) size from 4096 to 512

Post by rascard2007 »

HI Friends, a long time without coming here, my greetings for all of you

I put the HDD of my laptop seagate slim laptop hdd sata in an external enclosure in order to run some diagnostics because it was having some booting issues

at first the disk was read good, only som sector damaged in the bootin partition, but when I connect it again via usb port the partitions are recognaized (e.g. F, G, H) but not mounted by the OS

I tried the aomei partition asistant, and when it try to read the partitions I got the following message

the sector (or cluster) size is 4096 must to be 512, changing........

and can't read the content of the partition

is there any way to get the right sector size back without losing the information stored in the HDD

many thanks in advance,

SAMH
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
User avatar
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 17191
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: How to change sector (or cluster) size from 4096 to 512

Post by Mr T »

Can you clone the hard drive to another to keep any data safe? You usually cannot change a cluster size without formatting or at the least corrupting data. Try GParted, it is a small free live linux operating system that you can run gparted on, it may (I stress may) be able to repair the drive with a disk check enough to recover data.
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
User avatar
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 725
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Re: How to change sector (or cluster) size from 4096 to 512

Post by rascard2007 »

Many thanks Mr. T

I will try the gparted in teh week end and the results will be posted, hope it will work

:roll:
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Post Reply