The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:09 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Wellsir ... my main computer (the intel i7) hard drive gave out on me and I can't boot into windows anymore. Meaning I must replace the hard drive and reinstall everything again including my flight sim which is going to be a royal pain in the rear :roll: . I'm tried of doing that when the hard drive fails. I tried to do a back up on my AMD computer now that I have it up and running again after replacing the hard drive, but I got an error about windows backup failed while trying to read from the shadow copy on one of the volumes being backed up. I don't know what to do about that. I got this paragon hard disk manager 15 suite, but I don't know how to use it yet. Can anyone help me out with this? :?

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 3:32 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Certain the hard drive is totally dead? Tried another power lead, another data ribbon?
If you hear clicks and buzzing from the drive, then most likely it is DOA.
Check with the manufacturer, if there is a warranty left. Data recovery is expensive.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:13 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Pretty sure the hard drive has gone bad. When it first started to act up I tried testing it with the WD diagnostic, but it seem like it was not doing anything. I wasn't able to cancel the test and when I did a reset to get the computer going again it would no longer boot into windows. I tried to do a repair, but it didn't do anything for hours.
I'm waiting for the replacement drive ... I just want to learn how to back up my OS so I won't have to go through a fresh install each time the hard drive goes. I don't understand why my AMD computer couldn't do a backup. I need to figure out this imaging software so I can backup the OS. I got the drive in 2013 so the warranty has expired. The WD green only has a two year on it.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:38 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
A hard drive will spin up with just the power connection, no data ribbon.
Trying another power lead is the easiest test to see if a drive is still good.
With SATA drives, there is only one way to connect the data ribbon. With the older PATA type, 40-wire, there were some headers that had no physical key to ensure the proper connection. That red stripe should always be nearest the power socket, and at the pointer for #1 on the mobo header. Jumper settings for stand-alone, master/slave and cable select must be checked.
With the 80-wire ribbons, there is a dedicated connector for master and slave, and mobo header.
Some newer SATA drives may not be recognized on older systems, so there may be a jumper to set previous standards.

Cloning software is the best and most complete way to back up a system, down to enabling the other drive to boot.
If the drive is out of warranty, perhaps a "transplant" of the disk(s) to another identical drive may regain data access. A level 4 (ultra clean) service area is mandated. One tiny speck of dust getting on the platter and hitting the heads is like a car hitting a boulder on the highway.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:16 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I'll double check the cable ... is this paragon program what I need to clone my drive?? :-|

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group