The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:44 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:41 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
http://badcaps.net/index.php?pageid=repair_costs

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:07 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
evasive wrote:
http://badcaps.net/index.php?pageid=repair_costs


Yeah I saw that, financially not feasible right now..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 4:42 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
http://www.newegg.com/Mouse-Keyboard-PS ... ry/ID-3024

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:34 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
Karlsweldt wrote:
http://www.newegg.com/Mouse-Keyboard-PS2-Adapters/SubCategory/ID-3024


hmm that completely slipped my mind... :P Thanks

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:55 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
Really it is not worth investing any effort in this old kit, especially now the $35 pi3 is out and is powerful enough to do proper computering.

But if you are doing this as a fun challenge then why not.

I used to keep a stack of old mobos/graphics cards etc boards in a box, so that I could salvage caps etc off them as required. Generally you just need to replace caps with something which matches or exceeds the voltage and capacitance. You shouldn't need to travel far to get donor boards, nearby computer shop, skips, freecycle, etc

At one point I stuck an MP processor in a desktop board and used that as a media server. They run cool and the unlocked multiplier opens up lots of options for overclocking/underclocking but you have to be careful as some boards work better with MP processors and FSB tweaking than others.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:38 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Can you run windows (any version) on your RP3? We deal with windows software/tools/utilities so we need something to run that stuff on. Yeah, I know, for basically anything else it's a viable option, just not in this case.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:24 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
evasive wrote:
Can you run windows (any version) on your RP3? We deal with windows software/tools/utilities so we need something to run that stuff on. Yeah, I know, for basically anything else it's a viable option, just not in this case.


huh? No disks.. I could theoretically, albeit an illegal copy.. :lol:

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 4:31 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
The R-pi3 has only one USB data port, but adding a powered USB hub may allow an external hard drive or two.
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-add ... pberry-pi/
Doubt the pi3 could handle the bloatware of Windows, but is fine with Linux as an OS on its SD card.
One 'inventor' made a NAS storage unit with a pi3!
http://www.howtogeek.com/139433/how-to- ... ge-device/

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:43 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
Microsoft have actually compiled a cut down version of windows 10 which is available for free on the pi3. Other than that I think you are right, any software compiled for x86 is not going to run well or at all, you need to use Linux or Android compiled for ARM. Maybe I should've suggested a cheap atom based alternative to the old HP :wink:

On all the RPis it is best to run the os from the on-board microUSB which is handy in that you can switch out OS's really easily, it runs better than you might think, especially on a card with a decent write speed, but obviously not going to bench like an SSD SATA.
It's also possible to run OS or access files from a USB flash or hard drive, the pi3 has 4 usb 2 ports.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group