The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:12 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
Hi!

I got an Aopen AX3S mobo that is working prefectly and I want to upgrade my oldest PC, the problem is that I have an ATI All In Wonder AGP 2x 8MB that I want to keep in this board because Is the one that I use to watch TV

the specifications of the MOBO says that it is an AGP 4X, but the manual says that the chipset supports both 2X/4X AGP

Is my VGA Card fully compatible with the AX3S MOBO?

many thanks in advance

SAMH

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 4:11 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Should be 100% compatible. If the slot supports 2X/4X class cards, your card will be good.
If otherwise the card were an 8X, it would not have the full performance.
Just ensure the key slot on the contact tongue matches the slot key!
One slot type is for 3.3 volts only, another for 1.5 volts only, then there is a 'universal' slot type.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Accelerated_Graphics_Port

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:17 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
Thanks Karl, I think that the mobo slot is the universal type, because there is no slot key at all

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:58 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
That is the AGP Universal indeed:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Accelerated_Graphics_Port

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:33 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
thanks evasive, I had been very busy for several days and didn´t try the mobo - agp combination yet

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:59 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
I´m having a funny issue with this AX3S board, when I put a new CMOS battery de MOBO doesn´t start!!!

with an used (i think empty) battery or no battery at all the mobo works fine, the only problem if that I disconect the PC from the power oulet all bios settings are lost

¿any clue?

many thanks in advance,

SAMH

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 4:26 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Quickest way to check one of those 3 volt coin batteries is with an LED bulb rated at 3 volts. The long lead is the (+). Bright light, good. Dim, weak. Normally only about 10 mA current draw on the battery when powering the BIOS/CMOS and clock.
Checking the battery in-circuit should show the nominal 3 volts, the top being positive, any bare metal shield or black wire being negative. Of course, no mains power to the PSU for about 5 minutes.
If no reading, then something amiss on the positive side of the battery circuit. The reset CMOS jumper? One of the diodes that prevents cross-current feed?

Do you get any error beeps without any device cards in the setup? All PSU power leads plugged into the board?
While the socket 478 and 775 may have the extra 4-pin 12 volt plug, the socket 370 does not. But if old enough, may need the -5 volt source from the PSU!
Specs link: http://www.motherboards.org/mobot/mothe ... Open/AX3S/

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
the problem is simple:

No CMOS battery - PC starts fine

CMOS battery - PC doesn´t starts

What happen?

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:06 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Check the state of the capacitors in the power supply.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group