The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 9:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:36 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4410
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
Is a newer store bought PC and its internal hardware that was originally built as a 64 bit PC backward compatible to a 32 bit Windows O.S. and 32 bit installed software etc. ???

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:24 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
As far as I know the 64bit hardware always support 32bits stuff, the limit is that u can´t go beyond de 4GB RAM limit using 32bit OS and software

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 12:39 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
32 bit, yep...but, can't really go much further than that though(i.e. to 16bit or other similarly ancient stuff).

a significant portion of software in the open market is still 32 bit and happily will run on 64 bit machines. some 32bit stuff doesn't play as well, but...in general it should work with minimal effort.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:13 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
I think you can still run 16bit DOS on 64bit systems, however, I haven't tried recently...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:46 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
I was able to do 16 bit through an emulation - I'm pretty sure I remember seeing that post-WinXP 16 bit is unsupported, and will simply not run. you'd need similar emulation as to what i did (like dosbox) to make anything 16 bit work on a 64 bit windows install.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:36 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Win 10 "64" still has the 'cmd' prompt, and can manage 8-bit or 16-bit processes within that 'window'.
http://www.askvg.com/review-windows-10- ... t-console/
https://redmondmag.com/articles/2014/11 ... rompt.aspx
But a 'compatibility' mode is needed for 32-bit programs. Some 16-bit programs also will fare well. 8-bit must be run from a command prompt. The OS may attempt to combine two command lines as one operation step, and kick itself in the teeth otherwise.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 8:02 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
Karlsweldt wrote:
Win 10 "64" still has the 'cmd' prompt, and can manage 8-bit or 16-bit processes within that 'window'.
http://www.askvg.com/review-windows-10- ... t-console/
https://redmondmag.com/articles/2014/11 ... rompt.aspx
But a 'compatibility' mode is needed for 32-bit programs. Some 16-bit programs also will fare well. 8-bit must be run from a command prompt. The OS may attempt to combine two command lines as one operation step, and kick itself in the teeth otherwise.


every conversation I've seen about 16 or 8 bit on a 64 bit install(whether xp, 7, 8 or 10) it will not work without 32 bit emulation - whether or not you use the command prompt is beside the point.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PC 32 bit & 64 bit
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:03 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
it's possible you'd have problems finding proper drivers for winxp 32-bit to run properly on a brand spanking new computer. no problems for 7x32 on, I would think. can't see a reason you'd want to run any newer OS (post xp) to run in 32-bit, though. maybe some legacy 32-bit programs that just don't run on 64 bit? but I think that has more to do with a newer OS structure being the problem rather than the exact cpu/platform architecture.
I guess you'd have to lookup the motherboard make, and see if there are xp 32-bit drivers out there for it.

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group