The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:48 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:39 am
Posts: 1
Hello,
I'm a student and have a project with a budget. I'm looking for a place/website I could buy a motherboard that only takes DDR ram. Not DDR2, 3, 4, or 5 ram.

I know these are old motherboards but I'm unable to find what I'm looking for anywhere. Also, this motherboard needs DDR ram, SATA connections, and socket for a quad core cpu.

I'm hoping the great minds here know of websites where I can find what I'm looking for!

Thanks
all responses apprecitated
Rob


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:12 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Welcome to Motherboards.org.
"Plain" older DDR memory is still around, but not all that popular. Same too the motherboards. You are looking at Socket 370 and early Socket 478 models, plus older AMD motherboards.
Perhaps surfing eBay in their computers category may turn up something worth the investment. But don't look to run Win 7 or newer OS type on it.. compatibility problems. But great for a Linux setup.
A caution on eBay purchases: Check the seller's feedback amount and good rating.. the higher, the better. And look for some sort of warranty on electronic items.
As to a SATA drive, unlikely an older motherboard would host that type hard drive. But there are PCI controller cards that can be used for SATA drives on older systems.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:35 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
Karl I think U r mistaking the idea, he must be talkimg about what we call it DDR-1 made up to 400MHz and used in lates Socket 478 and early socket 775 mobos

I have a couple of them still in use, both intel D101GCC, that feature all he wants except quad core support

I think there is no motheboards that uses DDR1 and support Quad Core CPU´s the higher I know is Dual Core Support

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:00 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
That note about a "quad-core" CPU I missed! My bad. :oops:
When you have a head cold, the mind is AWOL a bit.
Something in a late Socket 478 or 775 (or later) may be the choice. SATA and DDR RAM features. But better if having PCI-E video than AGP.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2015 7:17 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 721
Location: Havana, Cuba
take a look at:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/via/4coredual-sata2/

I don´t know if it is still available, but seems to be that U want

_________________
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 11:00 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
tell me if I'm wrong, but A) socket 478 never had quad-core cpu's!
B) you'd be VERY hard pressed to find a socket 775 mobo with ddr1 ram slots.
you'd be better off finding a new platform than building your system around decade-old memory! modern ram is dirt cheap these days!

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:00 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
VIA® PT880 Pro/PT880 Ultra Chipsets support both DDR and DDR2 memory + LGA775 QuadCore chips.

The Asrock is an example, I think with some digging we might find more boards (not too many ofcourse). Sounds like a project to find out the difference between the kinds of memory or even a testbed for used memory to see what is still good enough for resale...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:47 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17142
Location: England
evasive wrote:
VIA® PT880 Pro/PT880 Ultra Chipsets support both DDR and DDR2 memory + LGA775 QuadCore chips.

The Asrock is an example, I think with some digging we might find more boards (not too many ofcourse). Sounds like a project to find out the difference between the kinds of memory or even a testbed for used memory to see what is still good enough for resale...
Issue is it wont support a quad core CPU on DDR1, tried and failed with that one! However HT is supported...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2015 4:07 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Mr T, you as expert on trying to make any hardware work, have you ever made a QuadCore work together with DRR1 memory on any board?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group