The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:52 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:33 am
Posts: 2
Dont laugh, I'm a dad with too many kids all wanting to play games. I'm trying to upgrade an ASUS P5ND2-SLI motherboard runnin a 3.2 GHZ Pentium 4 with 3GB RAM. It had 2 6600 based graphics cards (only one being used) and have bought a used Powecolor Hd 6850 card. Removed the old drivers, installed the new hardware and no display at all. Tried both the HDMI and DVI outputs. The bios settings are set to auto for things like the PEG (an on board SLI from what I understand). I went into the ASUS support site and my bios version (701) appears to be the latest version. However in the FAQs there is a note on no dispaly using another graphics card (an ATI EH3870X" not an HD 6850) suggesting an upgrade to a bios version of 1107 or later.
Can ayone suggest what I'm doing wrong on the graphics card installation please?
Is the bios in need of an upgrade - if so where do i find a version 1107 or higher as its not listed in ASUS' own page for the motherboard model downloads.
By the way I will need help on the bios upgrade if necessary but I'll read the forums before asking if thats whats required.
Any help greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:59 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
That video card has a power socket on the inner edge. May be a single 4-pin, or a 6-pin.. or two 4-pin or 6-pin. Or a 6-pin plus 2. The PSU should be at least 600 watts or higher, having the lead set to mate to that power socket. If the lead set is not present, New Egg ( www.newegg.com/ ) does have adapter lead sets, using two Molex to one six-pin.

My F@H rig was using a BFG GTX280, it had dual 6-pin power sockets. The card failed, so now using an EVGA GTX460.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:04 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Single 6pin.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:19 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
any beeps? is the board speaker working?

i'd expect a long single beep on a board with a un-powered GPU.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:30 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:33 am
Posts: 2
I did connect the additional power connector, indeed my son and I tries both 6 pin connectors available from the PSU.

The board gives thress beeps from memory - pretty sure it wasnt a single beep.

The fan on the GPU is running.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:27 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Found a link for a user's manual in PDF format.. http://www.power-color.com/Manual/09010 ... es_ENG.pdf
No mention if there is a power LED on the back (port side) of the card.. but from seeing several images, looks like there is one by the HDMI port. If it lights green, all is good. If red, troubles.
The card when used as a single must be in the primary PCI-E video slot. Check the BIOS pages to ensure that slot is the only active one, not as a primary with a secondary.
From other searches, the card requires near 130 watts of +12 volt power.
For start-up error beeps, typically "no memory" would be one or several long beeps.
For video card/memory not found, the beep code should be one long and three short.

Just not excited about it being "used". Was there a warranty on it?

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group