The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem with Firefox
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:00 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:21 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Middlesboro KY
When I try to go to a secure web site, Firefox blocks it. I can't access Firefox add-ons. I have ran Malwarebytes and Microsoft security essentials, neither found anything. I have started Firefox with all the add-ons disabled to no avail. I have reset Firefox, didn't help. It is saying it can't verify the security certificate. If I ask to get security certificate it gets the certificate but if I view the details it shows the certificate details and nothing appears out of order.
I can use internet explorer, the only glitch is it asks if I only want to view the secured portions of the page and if I say yes, then I can log in to the site. I'm out of options. Someone point me somewhere. Thanks folks.

_________________
"A pessimist sees a problem with an opportunity. an optimist sees an opportunity with a problem."
Winston Churchill

Civilization is invaded by barbarians every generation. (author unknown)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:52 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20859
Location: 07438
Had a similar condition some time back. The cause was the DATE being off by about a year late!
But do clear out all cookies from Firefox. Some haggling when going back to sites, but not all that bad. Ensure the tic box for "do not track me" is checked, concerning privacy.
Since Firefox dropped the "no third-party cookies" feature, hundreds of nasty tracking cookies are loaded into your history. And some of those companies ignore your request, and your habits are then sold to whoever pays the price.
Also check if some 'parental control' feature has been activated. Reset all controls to default, then set as required. Same with IE!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 4:50 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Check your system time and date.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 6:39 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:21 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Middlesboro KY
Those suggestions was the first things I tried. What I did was downloaded the latest Firefox, of which I thought I had, and installed it. It fixed the problem. Apparently I had an older version, but it was saying Firefox was up to date. I had to use IE to get to FF site.
I appreciate all the help I have gotten here.

_________________
"A pessimist sees a problem with an opportunity. an optimist sees an opportunity with a problem."
Winston Churchill

Civilization is invaded by barbarians every generation. (author unknown)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group