question about software sold on built machine...

All hardware or software issues that do not have a specific forum go here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

question about software sold on built machine...

Postby bdub » Thu May 02, 2013 1:19 pm

...specifically VLC. can the company i work for include it on the machines we sell to customers without getting in a lot of legal hassles.
i've read the gpl, but can't make heads or tails of it about this issue.

there's some other tool-type programs like virtualdub, and quicktime player that also come to mind in this instance.

any ideas?
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3657
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Re: question about software sold on built machine...

Postby Mr T » Thu May 02, 2013 9:29 pm

bdub wrote:...specifically VLC. can the company i work for include it on the machines we sell to customers without getting in a lot of legal hassles.
i've read the gpl, but can't make heads or tails of it about this issue.

there's some other tool-type programs like virtualdub, and quicktime player that also come to mind in this instance.

any ideas?
Yes you can get into a whole lot of bother. The license on a lot of this software may be 'free' but if you sell if for commecial gain then it is not, and selling it for commercial gain as such includes selling a pc with it on.
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17093
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby bdub » Sat May 04, 2013 2:52 pm

yeah, I thought so. thanks for the confirmation.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3657
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby evasive » Sun May 05, 2013 10:10 pm

http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html

When we speak of free software, we are referring to freedom, not price. Our General Public Licenses are designed to make sure that you have the freedom to distribute copies of free software (and charge for them if you wish), that you receive source code or can get it if you want it, that you can change the software or use pieces of it in new free programs, and that you know you can do these things.


For example, if you distribute copies of such a program, whether gratis or for a fee, you must pass on to the recipients the same freedoms that you received. You must make sure that they, too, receive or can get the source code. And you must show them these terms so they know their rights.


In my book this reads as: copy a zipped source code to that system and make sure they read the GPL, and you're home free...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby bdub » Mon May 06, 2013 2:14 pm

my boss is mulling it over... I said to him I thought having them install the latest version after dl'ing it themselves would be the best route... we'll see how that sits with him.
see, the thing is that quicktime does not play uncompressed large video files as well as vlc. we do put quicktime on peoples systems, and have gotten away with that forever. avid, in fact, requests that you have quicktime installed before you even install media composer. we never bothered thinking about a gpl in that case.
but I brought it up for vlc, as it is not requested by avid.
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD athlonII X3 440
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3657
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests